top of page


Assumption senior Ainara Sainz de Rozas won the voting for the & Zaleski Sports February High School Athlete of the Month. (File photo)

Zaleski Sports

Wisconsin Rapids Assumption girls basketball player Ainara Sainz de Rozas has been voted as the & Zaleski Sports February High School Athlete of the Month.

The High School Athlete of the Month Award main sponsor for the 2021-22 school year is Awards ‘n’ More of Wisconsin Rapids. The monthly award will continue through June 2022, and the winner of the & Zaleski Sports High School Athlete of the Year will be announced in July.

Varsity athletes from the following high schools are eligible to be nominated for the award: Abbotsford, Amherst, Athens, Assumption, Auburndale, Colby, Columbus Catholic, Edgar, Granton, Greenwood, Iola-Scandinavia, Loyal, Marshfield, Mosinee, Neillsville, Newman Catholic, Pacelli, Pittsville, Port Edwards, Rosholt, Spencer, Stratford, Stevens Point, Wild Rose and Wisconsin Rapids Lincoln.

Sainz de Rozas tallied 488 of the nearly 1,200 votes cast during voting from March 2-9 at

Other nominees for the February award were: Marshfield gymnast Ellie Jensen, Stratford wrestler Raife Smart, Wisconsin Rapids wrestling Preston Spray, and Mosinee boys basketball player Davin Stoffel.

Sainz de Rozas, a senior point guard, scored in double figures in all eight of Assumption’s games in February, which were all wins, as the Royals captured the Marawood Conference South Division championship. She had 16 points in a victory over Manawa on Feb. 14, which included three 3-pointers, and had 14 points and four assists in the Royals’ 61-60 WIAA Division 5 regional final victory over Athens on Feb. 26. Assumption will be playing in the girls state tournament this weekend in Green Bay.

Nominate someone now for the March award by emailing editor Paul Lecker at, and check back to vote on April 4-11 for the March High School Athlete of the Month.

Other winners of the award thus far in the 2021-22 school year are: Mosinee soccer player Toren Holtz (August), Stevens Point football player Riley Warzynski (September), Mosinee football player Keagen Jirschele (October), Stevens Point Pacelli girls basketball player Amelia Jacoby (November), Spencer/Columbus wrestler Treyton Ackman (December), and Iola-Scandinavia boys basketball player Parker Prahl (January).

28 views0 comments