top of page


Spencer/Columbus’ Mason Wolf won the 113-pound championship at the Cloverbelt Conference Wrestling Tournament on Saturday at Cadott High School. (Photo courtesy of SC Wrestling Facebook page)

Zaleski Sports

CADOTT – Neillsville/Greenwood/Loyal won three titles and had three runner-up finishes to finish second in the team standings at the 2022 Cloverbelt Conference Wrestling Tournament on Saturday at Cadott High School.

Cadott won the team title with 232 points, followed by Neillsville/Greenwood/Loyal with 198 and Eau Claire Regis/Altoona with 176. Abbotsford/Colby took fifth with 101 and Spencer/Columbus was eighth with 84.5 points.

Luke Dux, Jarick Young and Gunner Hoffmann earned individual titles for Neillsville/Greenwood/Loyal.

Dux (23-4) handed Spencer/Columbus’ Treyton Ackman (27-2) his second loss of the season with a 10-3 win in the 120-pound championship match.

Young defeated Ethan Duck of Cadott 14-3 in the 138-pound final, and Hoffmann pinned Nathan Zarins of Thorp/Owen-Withee in 1:44 in the 285-pound championship.

Derek Zschernitz (126), Hudzon Sebesta-Opelt (132) and Dan Polzin (195) all placed second for NGL.

Mason Wolf earned the 113-pound title for Spencer/Columbus.

Wolf pinned Bryce Armstrong-Baglien of Osseo-Fairchild/Augusta/Fall Creek in 47 seconds to win the 113-pound championship match for the Rockets.

In addition to Ackman, Cole Hanson took third-place at 220 pounds and Carson Kilty was fourth at 182 for Spencer/Columbus’ other top-four finishes.

Abbotsford/Colby had two champions as Tanner Halopka won the 145-pound title and Carter Grewe won the championship at 195.

Halopka pinned Alex Poirier of Bloomer/Colfax in 5:55, and Grewe pinned Polzin in 2:40.

Spencer/Columbus, Abbotsford/Colby and Neillsville/Greenwood/Loyal will compete at the WIAA Division 2 regional at Neillsville on Saturday, Feb. 12.

2022 Cloverbelt Conference Wrestling Tournament

Team scores: 1. Cadott 232; 2. Neillsville/Greenwood/Loyal 198; 3. Eau Claire Regis/Altoona 176; 4. Bloomer/Colfax 102; 5. Abbotsford/Colby 101; 6. Stanley-Boyd 97; 7. Osseo-Fairchild/Augusta/Fall Creek 85; 8. Spencer/Columbus 84.5; 9. Thorp/Owen-Withee 35.

106 pounds

Championship: Deaglan O’Connell (ECRA) pinned Cayden Gunter (OFAFC), 0:26.

Third place: Kaleb Lodahl (CAD) def. Ayden Anderson (BC), 9-2.

113 pounds

Championship: Mason Wolf (SC) pinned Bryce Armstrong-Baglien (OFAFC), 0:47.

Third place: Ethan Buchanan (NGL) pinned Dale Sayles (SB), 3:36.

Fifth place: Lukas Simenson (CAD) pinned Dylan Saeger (ECRA), 1:40.

120 pounds

Championship: Luke Dux (NGL) def. Treyton Ackman (SC), 10-3.

Third place: Logan Harel (CAD) def. Alexander Nitz (SB), 5-3 (SV-1).

Fifth place: Brison Tuschi (BC) def. Noah Schroeder (OFAFC), 9-4.

Seventh place: Cera Philson (TOW) def. Ethen Eager (ECRA), 10-3.

126 pounds

Championship: Brayden Sonnentag (CAD) won major dec. over Derek Zschernitz (NGL), 8-0.

Third place: Breckin Burzynski (SB) pinned Dayton Kunze (ECRA), 2:45.

132 pounds

Championship: Troy Trevino (SB) pinned Hudzon Sebesta-Opelt (NGL), 4:50.

Third place: Nick Fasbender (CAD) pinned Brandon Myher (ECRA), 2:54.

Fifth place: Teddy Meyer (SC).

138 pounds

Championship: Jarick Young (NGL), won major dec. over Ethan Duck (CAD), 14-3.

Third place: Landen Hoel (SB) pinned Alex Burdick (ECRA), 0:30.

145 pounds

Championship: Tanner Halopka (AC) pinned Alex Poirier (BC), 5:55.

Third place: Tommy Tomesh (ECRA) def. Keeghan Anding (NGL), 11-4.

Fifth place: Connor Simington (TOW) def. David Lallemont (CAD), 5-3.

Seventh place: Dustin Sudbrink (OFAFC).

152 pounds

Championship: Tristan Drier (CAD) def. Luke Blanchard (BC), 8-3.

Third place: Brayden Meyer (AC) pinned Liam O’Connell (ECRA), 3:56.

Fifth place: Gavyn McFarlane (NGL) pinned Hunter Kodl (TOW), 1:21.

160 pounds

Championship: Bowen Rothbauer (BC) def. Cole Pfeiffer (CAD), 6-4 (SV-1).

Third place: Hunter Breaker (OFAFC) pinned Garrett Learman (NGL), 1:48.

Fifth place: Jacob Hoppe (AC) pinned Nash Cullinan (ECRA), 2:03.

Seventh place: Dylan Seichter (SB).

170 pounds

Championship: Dawson Webster (CAD) def. Brayden Albee (ECRA), 3-1.

Third place: Dane Luchterhand (NGL) def. Talon Severson (AC), 5-0.

Fifth place: Jared Ramero-Garcia (SB).

182 pounds

Championship: Caden Weber (ECRA) pinned Levi Lindsay (CAD), 1:26.

Third place: Kaden Moseley (OFAFC) pinned Carson Kilty (SC), 0:55.

Fifth place: Damian Sampson (NGL) pinned Evan Nitek (BC), 0:33.

195 pounds

Championship: Carter Grewe (AC) pinned Dan Polzin (NGL), 2:40.

Third place: Brok McCann (BC) pinned Caden Kingston (CAD), 4:10.