top of page


Zaleski Sports

EDGAR – Stratford will be sending 10 wrestlers to sectionals after earning six championships and four runner-up finishes at the WIAA Division 3 wrestling regional on Saturday at Edgar High School.

Five teams competed in the event, with the top two finishers in each weight class advancing to the Division 3 individual sectional on Feb. 6 at St. Croix Falls. The top two finishers in each weight class at the sectional qualify for the 2021 WIAA Division 3 State Individual Wrestling Tournament at Wausau West High School on Feb. 13.

Earning regional titles for Stratford were: Logan Gaulke (7-8) at 126 pounds, Gavin Drexler (15-0) at 138, Jacob Heiden (14-1) at 152, Logan Rueth (12-2) at 170, Jackson Ormond (15-0) at 182, and Raife Smart (8-0) at 195.

Elijah Lucio (13-2 at 145), Ryan Becker (5-1 at 160), Cole Marten (12-1 at 220), and Patrick Greenberg (8-7 at 285) all finished second, losing in their respective weight class championship matches.

2021 WIAA Division 3 Wrestling Regional

Jan. 30, at Edgar High School

Team scores: 1. Cadott 285; 2. Stratford 257.5; 3. Marathon 144; 4. Edgar 52; 5. Athens 38; 6. Thorp 5.

Top two finishers in each weight class advance to individual sectional Feb. 6 at St. Croix Falls.

106 pounds

Championship: Dylan Dodson (MAR) pinned Lukas Simenson (CAD), 1:00.

Third place: Roman Schmidt (ST).

113 pounds

Championship: Logan Harel (CAD) def. Brooks Kraus (ATH), 9-7, SV-1.

Third place: Tommy Renard (MAR) pinned Alex LeMoine (ST), 0:43.

Second-place wrestleback: Kraus (ATH) pinned Renard (MAR), 1:15.

120 pounds

Championship: Brayden Sonnentag (CAD) pinned Mason Putnam (MAR), 1:37.

Third place: Braden Finck (ED) won major dec. over Cecilia Defoe (ST), 19-8.

126 pounds

Championship: Logan Gaulke (ST) pinned Ashton Bremness (CAD), 1:19.

Third place: Derek Vesely (MAR) pinned Connor Lewandowski (ATH), 3:57.

Fifth place: Cera Philson (TH).

Second-place wrestleback: Bremness (CAD) pinned Vesely (MAR), 0:53.

132 pounds

Championship: Nick Fasbender (CAD) pinned Jared Sweno (MAR), 4:00.

Third place: Ashtyn Kuehn (ST).

Second-place wrestleback: Sweno (MAR) pinned Kuehn (ST), 1:08.

138 pounds

Championship: Gavin Drexler (ST) def. Kaleb Sonnentag (CAD) by technical fall, 16-0.

Third place: Jacob Smith (MAR) pinned Corey Schilling (ED), 3:15.

145 pounds

Championship: Tristan Drier (CAD) def. Elijah Lucio (ST), 6-5.

Third place: Keghan Hartway (ED).

152 pounds

Championship: Jacob Heiden (ST) pinned Cole Pfeiffer (CAD), 3:21.

Third place: Jesse Jisko (ED).

160 pounds

Championship: Nelson Wahl (CAD) def. Ryan Becker (ST), 5-1.

Third place: Brady Lemmer (ED).

170 pounds

Championship: Logan Rueth (ST) pinned Hector Pintor (MAR), 4:43.

Third place: Peter Weir (CAD) pinned Collin Gajewski (ED), 1:37.

Second-place wrestleback: Pintor (MAR) pinned Weir (CAD), 3:06.

182 pounds

Championship: Jackson Ormond (ST) def. Dawson Webster (CAD), 6-2.

Third place: Kyler Ellenbecker (ATH).

195 pounds

Championship: Raife Smart (ST) pinned Axel Tegels (CAD), 1:23.

220 pounds

Championship: Gavin Tegels (CAD) pinned Cole Marten (ST), 1:33.

285 pounds

Championship: Logan Werner (MAR) pinned Patrick Greenberg (ST), 2:37.

Third place: Kane Mengel (CAD).

306 views0 comments