top of page


Marshfield senior Sam Roherty was a unanimous first-team selection on the 2020 All-Wisconsin Valley Conference Boys Soccer Team. (Photo by Paul Lecker/For Zaleski Sports)

By Paul Lecker

For Zaleski Sports

Undefeated champion Wausau West had four first-team selections including Player of the Year Tim DeLoye on the 2020 All-Wisconsin Valley Conference Boys Soccer Team, which was voted on by the seven conference coaches following the season.

Marshfield senior striker Sam Roherty was a unanimous first-team selection, and fellow seniors, inside back/defender Logan Meyer and holding midfielder Spencer Frey, were second-team choices for the Tigers.

Roherty topped Marshfield in scoring with 27 points, which included 13 goals and on assist, finishing second in the conference in goals scored and third in over scoring.

Roherty was a team captain for the Tigers, who finished 4-5-3 and in fifth place in the Valley this season, and earned first-team all-conference honors for the second year in a row.

Meyer was a key part of the Marshfield defense, while Frey, also a team captain, was a team leader and had two goals scored in conference play.

In addition to DeLoye, who led the Wausau West defense as it allowed just nine goals in posting a perfect 12-0 record in league play, seniors Ethan Cattanach and Nick Raasch were unanimous first-team selections, and senior Asa Battino was also a first-team pick for the Warriors.

Rounding out the first team were unanimous choices goalkeeper Carter Peplinski, defender Matt Moyer and forward Dane Siler of Wisconsin Rapids, and defender Drew Klein of Hortonville, as well as D.C. Everest midfielder Kyle Jaglinski and Wisconsin Rapids midfielder Joey TerMaat.

Rapids’ Siler led the conference with 15 goals scored and 34 total points, while West’s Raasch finished second with 30 points with a conference-leading six assists and 12 goals scored.

Peplinski posted an 8-1 record in goal for Wisconsin Rapids, allowing just eight goals with a 59 saves as he posted a conference-best 88.1 save percentage.

2020 All-Wisconsin Valley Conference Boys Soccer Team

First team (*denotes unanimous selection): *Carter Peplinski, sr., goalkeeper, Wisconsin Rapids; *Drew Klein, jr., defender, Hortonville; *Sam Roherty, sr., striker, Marshfield; *Tim DeLoye, sr., defender, Wausau West; *Ethan Cattanach, sr., midfielder, Wausau West; *Nick Raasch, sr., forward/midfielder, Wausau West; *Matt Moyer, sr., defender, Wisconsin Rapids; *Dane Siler, sr., forward, Wisconsin Rapids; Kyle Jaglinski, jr., midfielder, D.C. Everest; Asa Battino, sr., defender/midfielder, Wausau West; Joey TerMaat, sr., midfielder, Wisconsin Rapids.

Second team: Eli Pagel, jr., goalkeeper, Wausau East; Alek Zavadowski, jr., centerback, Wausau East; Travis Schmitz, sr., defender, Hortonville; Carter Cygan, sr., centerback, Wausau East; Colin Belton, so., midfielder, D.C. Everest; Aiden Dunn, so., defender, Wisconsin Rapids; Logan Meyer, sr., inside back/defender, Marshfield; Nick Rass, jr., midfielder/forward, Wausau West; Spencer Frey, sr., holding midfielder, Marshfield; Brandon Kaup, jr., midfielder, Wisconsin Rapids; Noah Lopez, jr., midfielder, Hortonville; Lucca Tonelli, jr., defender, Wausau West.

Honorable mention: Oliver Nazari-Witt, jr., defender, D.C. Everest; Garrison Peak, jr., midfielder, D.C. Everest; Connor Schommer, sr., midfielder, D.C. Everest; Daniel Lopez, so., forward, Hortonville; Miles Montalbano, so., defender, Hortonville; Ethan Stokes, sr., defender, Wausau East; Gael Medina, jr., forward, Wausau West; Curtis Tinjum, jr., defender/midfielder, Wausau West; David DeLoye, jr., forward, Wausau West; Ben Weidman, fr., midfielder, Wisconsin Rapids.

Player of the Year: Tim DeLoye, sr., defender, Wausau West.

28 views0 comments