top of page


Zaleski Sports

BLACK RIVER FALLS – Auburndale won three titles and the Stratford varsity reserve earned a pair of wins at the Black River Falls Wrestling Invitational on Saturday.

Portage won the team title with 216.5 points, with Sparta second at 153, Auburndale third at 151.5, the Stratford Varsity Reserve seventh with 97.5, Nekoosa/Assumption 12th with 70, and Pittsville 15th with 27.

Derek Godard at 106 pounds, Colten Weiler at 113, and Sloan Welch at 182 earned individual titles for Auburndale. Noah Altmann finished second at 138 for the Eagles.

Ryan Becker at 152 pounds and Carter Lueck at 170 won individual titles for Stratford.

James Schaefbauer won the 285-pound title with a pin in the championship match for Nekoosa/Assumption.

Pittsville lone top-six finisher was Racyn Schooley, who took fifth at 120.

Black River Falls Wrestling Invitational

Dec. 4, at Black River Falls High School

Team scores: 1. Portage 216.5; 2. Sparta 153; 3. Auburndale 151.5; 4. Viroqua 146; 5. Whitehall 115; 6. Ladysmith 109; 7. Stratford Varsity Reserve 97.5; 8. Stanley-Boyd 91; 9. De Soto 85; 10. Durand 79; 11. Black River Falls 76; 12. Nekoosa/Assumption 70; 13. Gale-Ettrick-Trempealeau/Melrose-Mindoro 56; 14. Bruce 40; 15. Pittsville 27; 16. Onalaska 20; 17. Thorp 14.

Championship matches, and Auburndale, Stratford JV, Nekoosa/Assumption and Pittsville results

106 pounds

Championship: Derek Godard (AUB) pinned Marc Zeches (LADY), 1:26.

Third place: Carter Jensen (NA) pinned Leander Cournelius (BRF), 1:43.

Fifth place: Roman Schmidt (ST) def. Cole Beckett (POR), 5-2.

113 pounds

Championship: Colten Weiler (AUB) pinned Brock Johnson (WHIT), 0:24.

Third place: Sawyer Ostrum (NA) pinned Adam Hentsch (BRF), 2:57.

120 pounds

Championship: Devon Lietzau (SP) pinned Jayson Kreier (POR), 0:48.

Third place: Joey Baker (DUR) pinned Tanner Wargowsky (AUB), 2:25.

Fifth place: Racyn Schooley (PIT) pinned Cera Philson (TH), 2:23.

126 pounds

Championship: Chase Beckett (POR) won by technical fall over Sasha Nitz (SB), 17-1.

132 pounds

Championship: Breckin Burzynski (SB) pinned Clayton Roscoe (LADY), 3:53.

138 pounds

Championship: Jackson McCormick (BRF) def. Noah Altmann (AUB), 7-2.

145 pounds

Championship: Preston Buroker (VIR) pinned Matthew Poulos (WHIT), 2:14.

152 pounds

Championship: Ryan Becker (ST) won technical fall over Oliver Kemerling-Pelock (VIR), 16-1.

160 pounds

Championship: Aiden Brosinski (DS) pinned Marcus Hanson (LADY), 0:51.

Fifth place: Austin Winker (VIR) won by major dec. over Brett Thiel (AUB), 17-7.

170 pounds

Championship: Carter Lueck (ST) def. Jordan Starr (POR), 7-2.

182 pounds

Championship: Sloan Welch (AUB) pinned Matthew Roach (LADY), 1:04.

Fifth place: Noah Lucio (ST) won major dec. over Leif Sannes (GETMM), 9-1.

195 pounds

Championship: Jack Callen (POR) pinned Nathan Woohouse (DS), 1:33.

Third place: Grant Rydlund (LADY) def. Patrick Greenberg (ST), 1:41.

220 pounds

Championship: Hayden Brueggeman (SP) pinned Ethan Brunner (DUR), 4:22.

Third place: Brice Thiel (AUB) pinned Pierce Kristof (POR), 2:27.

285 pounds

Championship: James Schaefbauer (NA) pinned Wylie Dunn (WHIT), 2:51.

Fifth place: Cadence Zwiefel (SP) def. Joseph Bertling (NA), 1-0.

Click here for complete results, courtesy of

126 views0 comments