top of page


Assumption senior Ainara Sainz de Rozas was named Marawood Conference South Division Co-Player of the Year. (Photo by Paul Lecker/Zaleski Sports)

By Paul Lecker

Zaleski Sports

Wisconsin Rapids Assumption senior Ainara Sainz de Rozas and Marathon senior Allison Wokatsch were named Co-Players of the Year and were unanimous first-team selections on the 2021-22 All-Marawood Conference South Division Girls Basketball Team.

Sainz de Rozas helped lead Assumption to the conference title and Division 5 state runner-up finish, averaging a team-high 11.1 points per game with 37 3-pointers made.

Wokatsch led the Marawood South in scoring at 16.5 points per game, and also averaged 6.2 rebounds per contest for Marathon.

Edgar's Reagan Borchardt was a first-team selection on the All-Marawood Conference South Division Girls Basketball Team. (Photo by Paul Lecker/Zaleski Sports)

Auburndale junior Annamarie Aue, Edgar junior Reagan Borchardt, and Stratford junior Lauren Kraus were also unanimous first-team picks.

Aue led Auburndale in scoring at 13.4 points per game with 30 3-pointers made, and also averaged six reboudns per game as the Eagles finished second in the conference standings.

Borchardt averaged 13 points, 9.6 rebounds and 1.8 blocks per game for Edgar, who tied Marathon for third place in the conference and reached the Division 5 sectional semifinals.

Kraus led Stratford in scoring at 11.6 points per game, while shooting 74 percent at the free throw line. She also led the Tigers in rebounding at 8.5 per contest, and had 35 steals.

2021-22 All-Marawood Conference South Division Girls Basketball Team

(*denotes unanimous selection)

First team: *Ainara Sainz de Rozas, sr., Wisconsin Rapids Assumption; *Annamarie Aue, jr., Auburndale; *Reagan Borchardt, jr., Edgar; *Allison Wokatsch, sr., Marathon; *Lauren Kraus, jr., Stratford.

Second team: Kayla Kerkman, sr., Wisconsin Rapids Assumption; Ashlyn Grimm, jr., Auburndale; Malia Hoesly, sr., Edgar; Mikayla Wirkus, so., Edgar; Maggie Wulf, jr., Wausau Newman Catholic.

Honorable mention: Maleia Kolo, jr., Wisconsin Rapids Assumption; Cristin Casey, jr., Wisconsin Rapids Assumption; Josie Ertl, jr., Auburndale; Gracie Krings, jr., Auburndale; Leah Davis jr., Edgar; Karli Lipinski, sr., Edgar; Jada Prihoda, sr., Marathon; Kali Prihoda, jr., Marathon; Sidney Galang, jr., Wausau Newman Catholic; Lily Zeimetz, sr., Wausau Newman Catholic; Bailey Linzmaier, jr., Stratford; Lexie Christopherson, jr., Stratford.

All-Defensive Team: Sarah Shaw, fr., Wisconsin Rapids Assumption; Aliah Hamus, sr., Auburndale; Morgan Schnelle, jr., Edgar; Kali Prihoda, jr., Marathon; Lily Sheilds, fr., Wausau Newman Catholic; Allison Lindner, jr., Stratford.

Co-Players of the Year: Ainara Sainz de Rozas, Wisconsin Rapids Assumption, and Allison Wokatsch, Marathon.

Coach of the Year: Ryan Klein, Wisconsin Rapids Assumption.

285 views0 comments