top of page


Neillsville track athlete Taytor Lowry was voted the & Zaleski Sports May High School Athlete of the Month. (Submitted photo)

Zaleski Sports

Neillsville High School track athlete Taytor Lowry has been voted the & Zaleski Sports May High School Athlete of the Month.

The High School Athlete of the Month Award main sponsor for the 2021-22 school year is Awards ‘n’ More of Wisconsin Rapids. The monthly award will continue through June 2022, and the winner of the & Zaleski Sports High School Athlete of the Year will be announced in July.

Varsity athletes from the following high schools are eligible to be nominated for the award: Abbotsford, Amherst, Athens, Assumption, Auburndale, Colby, Columbus Catholic, Edgar, Granton, Greenwood, Iola-Scandinavia, Loyal, Marshfield, Mosinee, Neillsville, Newman Catholic, Pacelli, Pittsville, Port Edwards, Rosholt, Spencer, Stratford, Stevens Point, Wild Rose and Wisconsin Rapids Lincoln.

Lowry received 1,261 of the nearly 2,700 votes cast during voting from June 1-8 at

Other nominees for the May award were: Stevens Point softball player Maddy Miklesh, Marshfield boys tennis player Ryan Paulman, Colby track athlete Malayna Rieck, Auburndale track athlete Terrance Roberson and Edgar softball player Makayla Wirkus.

Lowry qualified for the WIAA state track meet in two events after winning the 1,600 meters (4:31.13) and 800 meters (2:00.69) at the Division 3 sectional at Mondovi at May 26. He also won both events at the Colby regional on May 23, taking first in the 1,600 (4:40.57) and 800 (2:03.98), and at the Eastern Cloverbelt Conference Meet on May 17 as he won the 1,600 (4:44.87) and 800 (2:06.03). He finished fourth in both events at the state meet on June 3-4.

Nominate someone now for the June award by emailing editor Paul Lecker at, and check back to vote from July 1-7 for the June High School Athlete of the Month.

Other winners of the award thus far in the 2021-22 school year are: Mosinee soccer player Toren Holtz (August), Stevens Point football player Riley Warzynski (September), Mosinee football player Keagen Jirschele (October), Stevens Point Pacelli girls basketball player Amelia Jacoby (November), Spencer/Columbus wrestler Treyton Ackman (December), Iola-Scandinavia boys basketball player Parker Prahl (January), Wisconsin Rapids Assumption girls basketball player Ainara Sainz de Rozas (February), Athens boys basketball team (March), and Amherst baseball player Ben Lee (April).

121 views0 comments