top of page


Mosinee junior Lexi Freiboth was a first-team selection to the 2020-21 All-Great Northern Conference Girls Basketball Team. (Submitted photo)

By Paul Lecker

For Zaleski Sports

Mosinee dotted the first- and second-team selections on the 2020-21 Girls and Boys All-Great Northern Conference Basketball Teams, as voted on by the seven conference coaches following the season.

Mosinee had a pair of first-team picks and Scott McKellips was named Coach of the Year on the girls all-conference team.

Juniors Alexis Freiboth and Kate Fitzgerald were first-team choices for Mosinee, which won the conference championship with a 9-1 record.

Lakeland sophomore Julianna Ouimette was named Player of the Year and was a first-team selection, along with Medford senior Marissa Fronk and Rhinelander senior Rebecca Lawrence.

Ouimette led the conference in scoring at 26.5 points per game, shooting 52.5 percent from the field while making 28 3-pointers.

Lawrence was second in scoring at 22.6 points per game, while Freiboth was fourth (13.1 ppg) and Fitzgerald fifth (12.6 ppg). Fitzgerald also led the conference in rebounding at 6.4 board per contest, and Freiboth tied Ouimette for the league-lead in assists at 4.7 per game.

Mosinee senior Cyle Kowalski was among the five players selected to the first team of all-GNC boys team.

Medford senior Peyton Kuhn was named GNC Player of the Year after leading the Raiders to an undefeated conference title.

Kuhn averaged 19.2 points per game while making 72 3-pointers, both conference-highs.

Rounding out the first team are Medford sophomore Logan Baumgartner, and Rhinelander seniors Ross Skeen and Quinn Lamers.

Kowalski finished second in the GNC in scoring at 17.7 points per game with 25 3-pointers. He also averaged 4.7 points and a conference-best 5.8 assists per contest for Mosinee, which finished 8-4 in conference play.

Baumgartner chipped in 15.5 points and 4.4 rebounds per game, while making 48 3-pointers for Medford.

Skeen led Rhinelander in scoring at 14.4 points per game, while Lamers averaged 12 points per game as the Hodags finished in second place at 10-2 in the GNC standings.

Ryan Brown of Medford was named Coach of the Year.

2020-21 All-Great Northern Conference Girls Basketball Team

First team: Julianna Ouimette, so., Lakeland; Marissa Fronk, sr., Medford; Lexi Freiboth, jr., Mosinee; Rebecca Lawrence, sr., Rhinelander; Kate Fitzgerald, jr., Mosinee.

Second team: Greta Parsons, sr., Antigo; Amaya White, sr., Lakeland; Nora Gremban, fr., Northland Pines; Lonna Weix, sr., Antigo; Rynn Ruesch, jr., Medford; Adalyn Lehman, jr., Mosinee.

Honorable mention: Jenna Placek, jr., Mosinee; Bryn Fronk, so., Medford; Ella Schiek, sr., Rhinelander; Lucy Lurvey, sr., Northland Pines; Sophia Schlieve, so., Antigo; Carly Huelskamp, fr., Northland Pines; Camile Quade, sr., Lakeland.

Player of the Year: Julianna Ouimette, Lakeland

Coach of the Year: Scott McKellips, Mosinee.


2020-21 All-Great Northern Conference Boys Basketball Team

First team: Peyton Kuhn, sr., Medford; Logan Baumgartner, so., Medford; Cyle Kowalski, sr., Mosinee; Ross Skeen, sr., Rhinelander; Quinn Lamers, sr., Rhinelander.

Second team: Alex Fortier, sr., Lakeland; Nolan Lurvey, so., Northland Pines; Brady Hupf, sr., Medford; Davin Stoffel, so., Mosinee; Drew Bolder, sr., Tomahawk.

Honorable mention: Travis Towne, sr., Rhinelander; Will Fortier, so., Lakeland; Ty Baker, sr., Medford; Jake Placek, sr., Mosinee; Ryan Muench, so., Northland Pines; Eli Fleischman, sr., Antigo; Jacksen Smith, jr., Rhinelander; Scott Balas, sr., Lakeland; Kaden Steckbauer, sr., Antigo.

Player of the Year: Peyton Kuhn, Medford.

Coach of the Year: Ryan Brown, Medford.