top of page


Marshfield's Kyle Berres. (File photo)

Zaleski Sports

MARSHFIELD – Marshfield junior Kyle Berres will be moving on to sectionals after shooting an 87 and tying for 11th place at the WIAA Division 1 boys golf regional on Tuesday at Riveredge Golf Course.

The top four teams and top four individuals not on the qualifying teams move on to sectional meet May 31 at Greenwood Hills Country Club in Wausau. The top two teams and top three individuals not on the qualifying teams earn spots at the 2022 WIAA State Boys Golf Tournament at Blackwolf Run in Kohler on June 6-7.

Lakeland, behind meet medalist Kaedon Nomm and runner-up Matt Haggart, won the regional team title with a score of 322, 24 shots in front of Rhinelander. Wausau West (353) and Stevens Point (361) also earned team berths for the sectional.

Marshfield was fifth, just four shots behind Stevens Point, with Wausau East sixth (368), D.C. Everest seventh (370) and Merrill eighth (401).

Nomm shot a 3-under par 33 on the front nine and finished at even-par 72 to defeat Haggart by nine shots. Rhinelander’s Koldyn Gechas and Stevens Point’s Ethan Thomas tied for third with 82s.

Berres finished in a three-way tie for 11th with Andy Ziemer of D.C. Everest and Wisconsin Valley Conference champion Lucca Tonelli.

Teddy Schlindwein of Wausau East tied for sixth with an 84, and teammate Cooper Bjerke tied for 14th with an 89 to also earn individual spots at the sectional, along with Berres and Ziemer.

Maxx Oertel had a 91, Ethan Schnitzler had a 93, Graydon Anderson shot a 94, and Tyler Heiman shot a 99 to round out the scoring for Marshfield.

WIAA Division 1 Boys Golf Regional

May 24, at Riveredge Golf Course, Marshfield

(*Top four teams and top four individuals not on qualifying teams move on to sectional meet May 31 at Greenwood Hills Country Club in Wausau)

Team scores: *1. Lakeland 322; *2. Rhinelander 346; *3. Wausau West 353; *4. Stevens Point 361; 5. Marshfield 365; 6. Wausau East 368; 7. D.C. Everest 370; 8. Merrill 401.

Individual results: 1. Kaedon Nomm (LAK) 72; 2. Matt Haggart (LAK) 81; 3. Koldyn Gechas (RH) and Ethan Thomas (SP) 82; 5. Jack Rubo (LAK) 83; 6. Justin Yang (WW) and *Teddy Schlindwein (WE) 84; 8. Garrett Kulhanek (RH) 85; 9. Cody Olson (LAK) and Tyler Skogstad (WW) 86; 11. *Andy Ziemer (DC), *Kyle Berres (MAR) and Lucca Tonelli (WW) 87; 14. *Cooper Bjerke (WE), Andrew Henrichs (RH) and Nathan Earnest (SP) 89; 17. Teag Wagner (LAK), Owen Bunnell (DC) and Brody Kowieski (RH) 90; 20. Maxx Oertel (MAR) and A.J. Earnest (SP) 91; 22. Ethan Schnitzler (MAR) 93; 23. Nate Geiss (DC) and Graydon Anderson (MAR) 94; 25. Matt Sitte (WE) and Chase Prohaska (WW) 96; 27. Callahan Laggis (RH) 97; 28. Jaylen Anderson (MER) and Arin Dettmering (MER) 98; 30. Allie Maschke (MER), Johnathon Juedes (DC), Tyler Heiman (MAR), Hayden Ackerlund (SP) and Logan Fike (WE) 99; 35. Jacob Kozelek (SP) 102; 36. Adam Gage (DC) and Brody Trantow (WE) 103; 38. Adam Prokop (WW) 104; 39. Sawyer Marnholtz (MER) 106; 40. Maya Paulus (MER) 109.

Click here for complete results, courtesy of the WIAA.

111 views0 comments