top of page


Almond-Bancroft pitcher Olivia Baumgartner named Player of the Year. Photo Courtesy: Lynn Hintz

By Paul Lecker

Zaleski Sports

Conference champion Stevens Point Pacelli earned three first-team and four second-team selJections to the 2021 All-Central Wisconsin Conference South Division Softball Team.

Seniors Emily Grezenski (first baseman), Grace Repinski (pitcher/third baseman) and Sami Miller (shortstop) were named to the first team for Pacelli, which won the conference title with a perfect 11-0 record. Complete statistics were not available for the Cardinals.

Almond-Bancroft pitcher Olivia Baumgartner was named the CWC South Player of the Year as she went 17-4 on the mound with a 3.00 ERA and 176 strikeouts in 119 innings pitched. She also hit .462 with 27 RBIs.

Rounding out the first-team selections were Port Edwards outfielder Katerina Hamus, Pittsville catcher Haylee Zawislan, Almond-Bancroft shortstop Raegen Omernik, Tri-County catcher Allie Booth and pitcher Tori Pronshinske, and Wild Rose pitcher/shortstop Laney Havlovitz.

Second baseman Briar Armatowsi, pitcher/outfielder Hannah Trzinski, catcher Jayden Hytry, and third baseman/outfielder Emma Van Order were second-team honorees for Pacelli.

Randy Yonke of Almond-Bancroft, Ann Molski of Stevens Point Pacelli, and Zoe Hale of Pittsville were named co-Coaches of the Year.

2021 All-Central Wisconsin Conference South Division Softball Team

First team: Katerina Hamus, jr., OF, Port Edwards; Haylee Zawislan, so., C, Pittsville; Olivia Baumgartner, jr., P, Almond-Bancroft; Raegen Omernik, so., SS, Almond-Bancroft; Emily Grezenski, sr., 1B, Stevens Point Pacelli; Grace Repinski, sr., P/3B, Stevens Point Pacelli; Sami Miller, sr., SS, Stevens Point Pacelli; Allie Booth, sr., C, Tri-County; Tori Pronshinske, jr., P, Tri-County; Laney Havlovitz, so., P/SS, Wild Rose.

Second team: Maddie Carpenter, sr., 1B, Pittsville; Jayden Porter, sr., SS/OF, Pittsville; Jillian Newby, so., C, Almond-Bancroft; Chloee Dernbach, sr., 1B, Almond-Bancroft; Messina Meddaugh, fr., 2B, Almond-Bancroft; Briar Armatowski, sr., 2B, Stevens Point Pacelli; Hannah Trzinski, fr., P/OF, Stevens Point Pacelli; Jayden Hytry, jr., C, Stevens Point Pacelli; Emma Van Order, sr., 3B/OF, Stevens Point Pacelli; Paige Hopkins, sr., SS, Tri-County.

Honorable mention: Mia Rogers, fr., 3B, Port Edwards; Ava Bembenek, sr., C, Rosholt; Olivia Gagas, sr., utility, Rosholt; Bekah Downs, sr., P/2B, Pittsville; Brooke Anderson, sr., IF/OF, Tri-County; Leila Delrow, jr., C, Wild Rose; Josie Worthen, jr., OF, Wild Rose; Aleyna Rosenow, jr., SS/2B, Wild Rose; Clare Williams, fr., Wild Rose; Lily Erdman, jr., Wild Rose.

Player of the Year: Olivia Baumgartner, Almond-Bancroft.

Co-coaches of the Year: Randy Yonke, Almond-Bancroft; Ann Molski, Stevens Point Pacelli; and Zoe Hale, Pittsville.

385 views0 comments