top of page


Zaleski Sports

KAUKAUNA – The Marshfield wrestling team, competing at the WIAA State Team Wrestling Tournament for the third time in the past four years, came up short in its Division 1 quarterfinal match, losing to Waunakee 40-32 on Saturday at Kaukauna High School.

The Tigers finish the season with a 9-3 dual meet record.

Waunakee lost its semifinal match to Kaukauna, 60-18. Kaukauna (13-0) went on to win the state title with a 38-26 victory over Stoughton. It is the fifth state team title in school history for the Ghosts, who won four-straight championships from 2014-17. This was the ninth-straight year Kaukauna has made the state team tournament.

Marshfield started the match with three-straight pins from Ryan Dolezal at 160 pounds, Garrett Willuweit at 170 and Camren Dennee at 182, to take an 18-0 lead.

Waunakee responded. Big time.

The Warriors won the next seven matches, three by pin and the final two by forfeit, to forge ahead 37-18, leaving Marshfield the need to sweep the final four matches.

Keagan Cliver won 5-3 at 132 pounds, but individual state meet qualifier Hoyt Blaskowski dropped a hard-fought 3-2 match at 138, finishing off the win for Waunakee.

Gabe Pugh (145) and Brett Franklin (152) finished off the match with wins by technical fall and pin, respectively, for the Tigers.

Waunakee 40, Marshfield 32

160: Ryan Dolezal (AMR) pinned Tori Bialkowski, 0:08.

170: Garrett Willuwwit (MAR) pinned Charles Borchadt, 1:23.

182: Camren Dennee (MAR) pinned Jacob Lyftogt, 1:55.

195: Kaden Hooker (W) def. Cody Weix, 6-2.

220: Daniel Ford (W) won major dec. over Jaden Wilhelm, 13-1.

285: Jack Schweizter (W) pinned James Clements, 4;21.

106: Max McKinley (W) pinned Jace Kelnhofer, 1:26.

113: Jayden Freie (W) pinned Landon Taylor, 0:33.

120: Coltan Nechvatal (W) won by forfeit.

126: Dane Spencer (W) won by forfeit.

132: Keagan Cliver (MAR) def. Kolby Heinz, 5-2.

138: Sam Lorenz (W) def. Hoyt Blaskowski, 3-2.

145: Gabe Pugh (MAR) won by technical fall over Gabe Guralski, 18-3.

152: Brett Franklin (MAR) pinned Scott Jezik, 1:00.