top of page


By Paul Lecker

Zaleski Sports

Conference champion Mosinee had four players named to the first team of the 2022 All-Great Northern Conference Baseball Team.

Mosinee sophomore Keagen Jirschele was a unanimous first-team selection at both pitcher and infield, and was joined on the first team by teammates Davin Stoffel, Taylor Lemanski and Gavin Obremski.

Mosinee won the conference title with an 11-1 record and reached the WIAA state tournament, finishing the season with a 26-4 mark overall.

Jirschele hit .424 with 13 doubles, five triples, two home runs, 27 RBI and 43 runs scored, while also going 6-3 with a 1.13 ERA and 61 strikeouts in 55 2/3 innings.

Lemanski hit .347 with 25 RBI and 26 runs scored, Stoffel batted .413 with three home runs, 23 RBI and 30 runs, and Obremski hit .307 with two homers and 18 RBI for the Indians this season.

Medford grabbed four spots on the first team in pitcher Logan Baumgartner, catcher Aiden Gardner, infielder Caleb Guden and outfielder Seth Mudgett. Guden was named the GNC Player of the Year.

In conference play only, Guden hit .595 (22-for-37) with 17 RBI, 18 runs scored, 13 stolen bases, 18 runs and two home runs, and also was 3-0 with a 1.19 ERA.

Pitcher Garrett Shupe, outfielder Trevor Garski and utility player Eli Miland were second-team choices, and infielders Tanner Unertl and Drake Grod were honorable mention picks for Mosinee. Miland was also an honorable selection as an outfielder.

Mosinee’s Adam Olson was named Coach of the Year.

2022 All-Great Northern Conference Baseball Team

(*denotes unanimous selection)

First Team

Pitchers: *Logan Baumgartner, jr., Medford; *Keagen Jirschele, so., Mosinee.

Catcher: *Aiden Gardner, sr., Medford.

Infielders: *Caleb Guden, sr., Medford; Davin Stoffel, jr., Mosinee; *Keagen Jirschele, so., Mosinee; Ryan Jamison, sr., Rhinelander.

Outfielders: *Seth Mudgett, sr., Medford; *Taylor Lemanski, so., Mosinee; Matthew Szafranski, sr., Northland Pines.

Utility: *Mason Gray, jr., Antigo; Gavin Obremski, so., Mosinee.

Second Team

Pitchers: Garrett Shupe, so., Mosinee; Landyn Hoeft, so., Northland Pines.

Catcher: Sam Schneider, jr., Rhinelander.

Infielders: Caden Kautza, sr., Antigo; Logan Baumgartner, jr., Medford; Tanner Hraby, so., Medford; Brigham Kelley, sr., Medford.

Outfielders: Mason Gray, jr., Antigo; Trevin Walbeck, sr., Antigo; Trevor Garski, sr., Mosinee.

Utility: Sam Schneider, jr., Rhinelander; Eli Miland, sr., Mosinee.

Honorable Mention

Pitchers: Ryan Jamison, sr., Rhinelander; Zach Peterson, sr., Lakeland.

Catcher: Conner Kolz, sr., Antigo.

Infielders: Will Fortier, jr., Lakeland; Tanner Unertl, sr., Mosinee; Jack Bunter, sr., Northland Pines; Hunter Aiuppy, jr., Antigo; Drake Grod, sr., Mosinee; Max Ratty, jr., Rhinelander.

Outfielders: Braxton Weissmiller, so., Medford; Eli Miland, sr., Mosinee; Will Bronski, sr., Lakeland; Addison Peissig, jr., Tomahawk.

Player of the Year: Caleb Guden, Medford.

Coach of the Year: Adam Olson, Mosinee.

21 views0 comments