top of page


By Paul Lecker

Zaleski Sports

Co-champions Athens and Phillips combined for eight of the 10 first-team selections on the 2021 All-Marawood Conference North Division.

Athens and Phillips tied for the North Division title with 7-1 records and each had four first-team picks.

Senior Shauna Belter, junior Siarra Hart, sophomore Elle Gauerke and freshman Addison Lavicka were named to the first team from Athens.

Senior Rachel Callow, juniors Jada Eggebrecht and Jensen Weik, and sophomore Megan DeLeasky were first-team honorees for Phillips, which reached the WIAA state tournament.

Chequamegon’s Hailey Minnema and Jasmine Schmidt, both juniors, rounded out the first team.

Conference statistics were incomplete.

2021 All-Marawood Conference North Division Softball Team

*Denotes unanimous selection

First team: *Siarra Hart, jr., Athens; *Shauna Belter, sr., Athens; *Elle Gauerke, so., Athens; Addison Lavicka, fr., Athens; Jasmine Schmidt, jr., Chequamegon; *Hailey Minnema, jr., Chequamegon; *Rachel Callow, sr., Phillips; *Jada Eggebrecht, jr., Phillips; Jensen Weik, jr., Phillips; *Megan DeLeasky, so., Phillips.

Second team: Sophia Coker, fr., Athens; Jazelle Hartwig, fr., Athens; Sydney Coker, fr., Athens; Grace Johnson, sr., Athens; Lexi Schultz, sr., Chequamegon; Lainie Helzler, jr., Chequamegon; Sienna Nguyen, fr., Chequamegon; Brianna Guzinski, jr., Phillips; Kacy Eggebrecht, fr., Phillips; Leah Thums, jr., Prentice.

Honorable mention: Autumn Westfall, sr., Athens; Paige Westaby, fr., Athens; Nina Kelto, jr., Chequamegon; Alyssa Hoffman, jr., Chequamegon; Alie Williams, fr., Phillips; Carissa Harding, so., Prentice; Lydia Harding, fr., Prentice; Danielle Mann, fr., Rib Lake; Kyla Kennedy, jr., Rib Lake.

Player of the Year: Jada Eggebrecht, Phillips.

Coach of the Year: Blake Edwards, Phillips.