top of page


Zaleski Sports

AMHERST – Auburndale will send three wrestlers to the sectional meet after earning a title and two runner-up finishes at the 2021 WIAA Division 3 wrestling regional at Amherst High School on Saturday.

The top two wrestlers at each weight class qualify for the Division 3 individual sectional at Valders High School on Feb. 6. The top two finishers at each weight class at the sectional will move on to the 2021 WIAA Division 3 State Individual Wrestling Tournament at Wausau West High School on Feb. 13.

Junior Brice Theil earned a regional title at 220 pounds for Auburndale, pinning Vanden Hoffman of Weyauwega-Fremont in 2:43 of the championship match. Theil moves on to the sectional with a 10-4 record this season.

Junior Noah Altmann and sophomore Sloan Welch move on to sectionals after earning runner-up finishes Saturday for Auburndale.

Altmann (11-3) won his third-place match, then pinned Drew Lewallen of Amherst in 3:16 in the second-place wrestleback to qualify for sectionals.

Welch (10-5) was runner-up at 182 pounds, losing in the championship match to Ben Strehlow of Weyauwega-Fremont, 13-5.

2021 WIAA Division 3 Wrestling Regional

Jan. 30, at Amherst High School

Team scores: 1. Amherst 214; 2. Manawa 167.5; 3. Weyauwega-Fremont 162; 4. Rosholt 95; 5. Auburndale 85; 6. Almond-Bancroft/Pacelli 7; 7. Tri-County 0.

Top two finishers in each weight class qualify for the Division 3 individual sectional Feb. 6 at Valders.

106 pounds

Championship: Lia Peterson (AM) pinned Isiah Schuh (WF), 3:08.

113 pounds

Championship: Kevin Klemm (MAN) pinned Blake Peski (ROS), 2:50.

Third place: Ryan Warzynski (AM).

120 pounds

Champion: Colten Klemm (MAN) (*only wrestler at weight)

126 pounds

Championship: Peyton Schuelke (MAN) pinned Drew Lewallen (AM), 1:00.

Third place: Noah Altmann (AUB) pinned Danny Wilson (WF), 2:31.

Second-place wrestleback: Altmann (AUB) pinned Lewallen (AM), 3:16.

132 pounds

Championship: Bo Niewiadomski (ROS) pinned Flynn Peterson (AM), 0:46.

Third place: Ayden Kuenzi (WF).

138 pounds

Championship: Bryan Griffin (MAN) pinned Devin Kuenzi (WF), 1:48.

Third place: Gavin Stephan (AM).

145 pounds

Championship: Brock Lyshik (ROS) pinned Ethan Lamoureux (WF), 1:20.

Third place: Brett Theil (AUB) pinned Luke Skinner (AM), 5:14.

152 pounds

Championship: Colin Moser (MAN) def. Rafael Lugo (ROS), 6-2.

Third place: Bryce Wendlandt (AM).

Second-place wrestleback: Wendlandt (AM) def. Rafael Lugo (ROS), 9-2.

160 pounds

Championship: Mason Haas (AM) pinned Max Meyerhofer (WF), 3:12.

Third place: Isaac Mlodik (ROS).

170 pounds

Championship: Bryce Bartel (MAN) def. Tristan Schelvan (AM), 3-2.

Third place: Cody Poeschel (AUB) pinned Caden Meisenhelder (WF), 2:58.

182 pounds

Championship: Ben Strehlow (WF) won major dec. over Sloan Welch (AUB), 13-5.

Third place: Colton Jakubek (AM).