top of page


Rosholt's Isaac Cychosz was named the 2021 Central Wisconsin Conference South Division Baseball Player of the Year. (Photo by Paul Lecker/Zaleski Sports)

By Paul Lecker

Zaleski Sports

All nine starters on conference champion Rosholt earned spots on the 2021 All-Central Wisconsin Conference South Division Baseball Team.

Rosholt won the conference title with a perfect 9-0 record and reached the WIAA Division 4 state championship game before losing to Boyceville to finish the year with a 21-4 record.

Rosholt senior pitcher/catcher/shortstop Isaac Cychosz was named conference Player of the Year and was one of five Hornets on the first team. Joining him are seniors Nathan Kropidlowski, Sam Trzebiatowski and Nathan Lemanczyk, and junior Blade Niewiadomski.

Prior to the playoffs, Cychosz hit. A team-best .611 with 23 RBIs, 10 doubles and 38 runs scored, and was 7-0 as a pitcher with an ERA of 1.43 and 64 strikeouts and just two walks in 39 1/3 innings.

Stevens Point Pacelli outfielder Brycen Cashin, shortstop/pitcher Drew Kedrowicz and infielder/pitcher Kaydin Mayek; Almond-Bancroft pitcher/shortstop Thomas Hunt, and Pittsville pitcher/utility player Wyatt Grimm rounded out the first-team selections.

Cashin hit .442 (34-for-77), had a .617 on-base percentage, and added six doubles, five triples, a home run, 16 RBIs and 45 runs scored for Pacelli, which finished second in the conference at 8-2 (17-12 overall).

Kedrowicz hit .407 with 29 RBIs, 11 doubles and 31 runs, and was 4-5 with a 1.98 ERA and 85 strikeouts in 46 innings as a pitcher for the Cardinals.

Mayek batted .344 with 33 RBIs, nine doubles, one homer, and 11 runs scored, and went 5-2 with a 3.33 ERA and 54 strikeouts in 42 innings pitched for Pacelli.

2021 All-Central Wisconsin Conference South Division Baseball Team

First team: Thomas Hunt, sr., P/SS, Almond-Bancroft; Wyatt Grimm, sr., P/utility, Pittsville; Brycen Cashin, jr., CF, Stevens Point Pacelli; Drew Kedrowicz, jr., SS/P, Stevens Point Pacelli; Kaydin Mayek, sr., SS/2B/P, Stevens Point Pacelli; Isaac Cychosz, sr., P/C/SS, Rosholt; Blade Niewiadomski, jr., P/SS/OF, Rosholt; Nathan Kropidlowski, sr., P/IF/OF, Rosholt; Sam Trzebiatowski, sr., 3B, Rosholt; Nathan Lemanczyk, sr., Rosholt.

Second team: Danny Baumgartner, sr., 1B/P, Almond-Bancroft; Camron Dammann, sr., Pittsville; Noah Grimm, jr., Pittsville; Carson Orheim, fr., P, Port Edwards; Zach Peterson, sr., 3B, Port Edwards; Brock Birrenkott, so., OF/P, Stevens Point Pacelli; Tyler Hintz, fr., C/OF, Rosholt; Justin Wanta, sr., SS/2B, Rosholt; Bo Niewiadomski, sr., OF, Rosholt; Brock Lyshik, sr., OF, Rosholt.

Honorable mention: Tanner Lamb, fr., Almond-Bancroft; Connor Newby, sr., utility, Almond-Bancroft; Noah Calverley, sr., Pittsville; Tyler Martinson, fr., C, Port Edwards; Brett Wilbert, so., P/C, Wild Rose; Andrew Wildner, jr., P/3B, Wild Rose.

Player of the Year: Isaac Cychosz, Rosholt.

Coach of the Year: Jack Brooks, Rosholt.

279 views0 comments