top of page


Spencer/Columbus junior Treyton Ackman, right, won the 113-pound title at the WIAA Division 2 wrestling sectional Saturday at Neillsville High School, earning a spot in next week's state meet. (Photo courtesy of Spencer/Columbus Rockets Wrestling Facebook page)

Zaleski Sports

NEILLSVILLE - Spencer/Columbus Catholic junior Treyton Ackman will be moving on to the state individual wrestling meet for the third-straight year after winning the 113-pound title at the WIAA Division 2 Individual Wrestling Sectional on Saturday at Neillsville High School.

Ackman improved to 10-0 this season with a 3-0 win over Neillsville/Greenwood/Loyal’s Luke Dux in the 113-pound championship match. Both earned spots at the WIAA Division 2 State Individual Wrestling Tournament on Feb. 13 at Adams-Friendship High School.

The top two finishers in each weight class qualify for the state meet.

Neillsville/Greenwood/Loyal will have two others moving on to state as well. Gunner Hoffmann (9-1) won a second-place wrestleback with a pin in 1:54 over Trevor Daffinson of Gale-Ettrick-Trempeleau/Melrose-Mindoro at 285 pounds, and Derek Zschernitz (12-3) finished second at 120 pounds, losing in the finals to undefeated Wyatt Ingham (17-0) of Amery, 8-2.

Abbotsford/Colby will have two wrestlers move on to state. Tanner Halopka (9-2) finished second at 138 pounds and River Halopka (12-1) was second at 145 after losing in the finals and winning a second-place wrestleback.

Spencer/Columbus senior Connor Luedtke (9-5) finished fifth at 220 pounds to end his career for the Rockets.

2021 WIAA Division 2 Individual Wrestling Sectional

Feb. 6, at Neillsville High School

*Top team qualifies for WIAA Division 2 State Team Tournament, Feb. 20 at Adams-Friendship High School.

Team scores: *1. Amery 167; 2. Baldwin-Woodville 124; 3. Neillsville/Greenwood/Loyal 86.5; 4. Gale-Ettrick-Trempeleau/Melrose-Mindoro 80; 5. Eau Claire Regis/Altoona 78.5; 6. Ellsworth 68; 7. West Salem/Bangor 63; 8. Northwestern 61; 9. Stanley-Boyd/Owen-Withee 57; 10. St. Croix Central 56.5; 11. Spooner/Webster 48; 12. Ashland 43; 13. Abbotsford/Colby 36; 14. Medford 31; 15. Spencer/Columbus 29.5; 16. Luck/Frederic/Grantsburg/Siren 27; 17. Bloomer/Colfax 23; 18. Rice Lake 18; 19. Osseo-Fairchild/Augusta/Fall Creek 17; 20. Osceola 15; 21. Black River Falls and Prescott 14; 23. Hayward/Northwood, Arcadia and Barron 0.

*Top two finishers at each weight qualify for the WIAA Division 2 State Individual Tournament, Feb. 13 at Adams-Friendship High School.

106 pounds

Championship: Colton Hush (BW) def. Nolan Johnson (LFGS), 11-2.

Third place: Carter Schulz (RL) pinned Brett Plomedahl (WSB), 1:22.

Fifth place: Deaglan O’Connel (ECRA) pinned Jace Prior (NGL), 0:39.

113 pounds

Championship: Treyton Ackman (SC) def. Luke Dux (NGL), 12-2.

Third place: Bradyn Glasspoole (WSB) pinned William Penn (ELL), 5:07.

Fifth place: Teague Holzer (SCC) def. Cole Braasch (BW), 13-8.

120 pounds

Championship: Wyatt Ingham (AM) def. Derek Zschernitz (NGL), 8-2.

Third place: Hunter Bonte (BW) def. Carson Koss (GETMM).

Fifth place: Alexander Nitz (SBOW) def. Noah Christianson (HN).

126 pounds

Championship: Tanner Anderson (GETMM) def. Austin Defoe (ASH), 9-7.

Third place: Chase Kostka (ECRA) def. Breckin Burzynski (SBOW), 10-5.

Fifth place: Tyler Fink (BW) won major dec. over Zach Servais (WSB), 13-3.

132 pounds

Championship: Blaine Brenner (SBOW) pinned Markus Brown (NW), 1:16.

Third place: Evan Wolfe (WSB) pinned Austin Schmidt (BW), 2:55.

Fifth place: David Hiles (GETMM) def. Jarick Young (NGL), 10-8.

138 pounds

Championship: Jordan Penard (AM) pinned Tanner Halopka (AC), 1:56.

Third place: Jackson McCormick (BRF) def. Taedon Nichols (LFGS).

Fifth place: Carson Church (MED) pinned Colin Niederkorn (GETMM), 3:33.

145 pounds

Championship: Mason Tylee (AM) pinned River Halopka (AC), 1:47.

Third place: Braden Matzek (ELL) def. Emett Grunwald (MED), 4-3.

Fifth place: Tadan Holzer (SCC) pinned Connor Melton (SW), 0:53.

Second-place wrestleback: Halopka (AC) def. Matzek (ELL), 6-4.

152 pounds

Championship: Payton Kostka (ECRA) def. Bowen Rothbauer (BC), 5-4.

Third place: Sam Murphy (PRES) def. Tanner Kaufman (NW), 8-7.

Fifth place: Adam Rogge (WSB) pinned David Olson (SCC), 4:44.

160 pounds

Championship: Walker Ingham (AM) won major dec. over Sam Crowley (BW), 10-0.

Third place: Brody Jepson (SW) def. Braden Trautt (NW), 5-0.

Fifth place: Dane Luchterhand (NGL) def. Ethan Rubenzer (BC), 9-7, UTB.

170 pounds

Championship: Jared Stricker (ASH) def. Devin Wasley (SCC), 6-5.

Third place: Tommy Friemoth (NGL) pinned Brandon Meister (SW), 3:19.

Fifth place: Anthony Madsen (ELL) def. Grant Cook (AM), 10-8 SV-1.

Second-place wrestleback: Wasley (SCC) pinned Friemoth (NGL), 3:13.

182 pounds

Championship: Blaine Guthrie (BW) def. Ian Smith (NW), 5-3.

Third place: Caden Weber (ECRA) def. River Rommel (GETMM), 3-1.

Fifth place: Ryan Matzek (ELL) pinned Parker Shackleton (SCC), 3:51.

Second-place wrestleback: Smith (NW) def. Weber (ECRA), 5-2.

195 pounds

Championship: Kale Hopke (AM) def. Nick Carlson (OSC), 9-3.

Third place: Carter Melton (SW) def. Brayden Albee (ECRA), 3-1.

Fifth place: Dalton Krug (MED) def. Justin Gappa (GETMM), 4-2.

Second-place wrestleback: Melton (SW) def. Carlson (OSC), 2-1 TB-1.

220 pounds

Championship: Koy Hopke (AM) pinned Max Ramberg (BW), 1:31.

Third place: Luke Fischer (OFAFC) won major dec. over Ian Matzek (ELL), 10-2.

Fifth place: Connor Luedtke (SC) def. Noah Knobloch (ECRA), 8-4.

Second-place wrestleback: Ramberg (BW) def. Fischer (OFAFC), 10-3.

285 pounds

Championship: Robert Beese (AM) def. Trevor Daffinson (GETMM), 4-1.

Third place: Gunner Hoffmann (NGL) def. Kyle Anschutz (ELL).

Fifth place: Tyler Krizan (SBOW) pinned Josh Bair (SCC), 3:39.

Second-place wrestleback: Hoffmann (NGL) pinned Daffinson (GETMM), 1:54.