top of page


Marshfield's Nick Urban was a first-team selection as an outfielder and second-team pick as a pitcher on the 2021 All-Wisconsin Valley Conference Baseball Team. (Photo by Paul Lecker/Zaleski Sports)

By Paul Lecker

Zaleski Sports

Marshfield senior Nick Urban was named to the first team as an outfielder and second team as a pitcher on the 2021 All-Wisconsin Valley Conference Baseball Team, as voted on by the seven conference coaches following the season.

Urban led the WVC in batting average, hitting .488 (20 of 41) in 12 conference games. He also had seven RBIs and tied for third with 14 runs scored. On the mound, Urban went 4-1 with a 2.24 ERA while striking out 32 in 34 1/3 innings in six outings.

Stevens Point senior Logan Schulfer was named Player of the Year as he was a unanimous first-team pick at both designated hitter and pitcher.

Schulfer hit .457 with 15 RBIs, and went 5-0 as a pitcher with a 1.44 ERA and 59 strikeouts in 34 innings.

In addition to Urban, Marshfield grabbed three spots on the second team.

Senior outfielder Simon Slade, senior shortstop Logan Homolka, and senior third baseman/shortstop Trey Montalvo were named to the second team from Marshfield, which finished 8-4 in conference play, tying D.C. Everest for second place.

Homolka hit .390 with 10 RBIs, Montalvo batted .381 with a home run, nine RBIs and a league-high 15 runs scored, and Slade batted .359 with a conference-best 16 RBIs.

Catcher Peter Earll was the lone Marshfield player to be named honorable mention. He hit .286 with eight RBIs.

Wisconsin Rapids outfielder Austin Junemann and catcher Brennan Huber were first-team selections for the Raiders.

Junemann finished second in the conference in batting, hitting .477 (21 of 44) with eight RBIs, eight runs scored and eight stolen bases.

Huber was fifth in hitting at .436 (17 of 39) with two homers, 14 RBIs and 11 runs scored.

2021 All-Wisconsin Valley Conference Baseball Team

*Denotes unanimous selection

First Team

Designated hitter: *Logan Schulfer, sr., Stevens Point.

Outfielders: *Nick Urban, sr., Marshfield; *Austin Junemann, jr., Wisconsin Rapids; Caleb DeJong, sr., Merrill; Kenny Schultz, sr., Stevens Point.

Catchers: *Matt Heinrich, sr., Wausau East; Ethan Graham, jr., Wausau West.

Infielder: *Owen Latendresse, sr., D.C. Everest.

Utility: Brennan Huber, so., Wisconsin Rapids.

Pitchers: *Logan Schulfer, sr., Stevens Point; *Roman Maguire, sr., D.C. Everest.

Second Team

Outfielders: Simon Slade, sr., Marshfield; Isaiah Piscitello, sr., Wausau West; Tommy Drohner, jr., Stevens Point; Justin Reimer, sr., D.C. Everest.

Infielders: Logan Homolka, sr., Marshfield; Landon Mezei, sr., D.C. Everest; Trey Montalvo, sr., Marshfield; Peyton Becker, sr. Merrill; Jake Sankey, sr., Stevens Point.

Pitchers: Nick Urban, sr., Marshfield; Brock Babiash, jr., D.C. Everest

Honorable Mention

Catchers: Nick Cotter, jr., D.C. Everest; Peter Earll, sr., Marshfield.

Infielders: Alex Mann, sr., Merrill; Evan Tuskowski, sr., Stevens Point; Jacob Hamann, jr., Wausau West; Caden Sengbusch, jr., Wisconsin Rapids.

Outfielders: Keegan Bohlman, sr., D.C. Everest; Logan Zaitz, sr., Wausau East; Ryan Sering, sr., Wisconsin Rapids.

Pitchers: Zach Kriegel, sr., Merrill; Isaiah Piscitello, sr., Wausau West; Braden Lewis, so., Wisconsin Rapids.

Player of the Year: Logan Schulfer, Stevens Point.

298 views0 comments