top of page


Updated: Feb 13, 2022

Zaleski Sports

NEILLSVILLE – Neillsville/Greenwood/Loyal had eight individual sectional qualifiers and won the team title to move on to the team sectional at the WIAA Division 2 wrestling regional Saturday at Neillsville High School.

The top two finishers in each weight class move on to the Division 2 individual sectional at Amery on Feb. 19.

Neillsville/Greenwood/Loyal moves on to the Division 2 team sectional tournament on Tuesday at Somerset after winning the team standings with 220 points. Eau Claire Regis/Altoona was second with 198.5 points.

Abbotsford/Colby had three regional champions and finished fifth in the standings with 120 points, and Spencer/Columbus had two second-place finishers and was seventh with 75 points.

Luke Dux (26-4) won one of four regional titles for Neillsville/Greenwood/Loyal as he defeated Spencer/Columbus senior Treyton Ackman (29-3) for the second-straight week, 8-4 in the 120-pound finals.

Derek Zschernitz (24-4) earned the 126-pound title for NGL with a 10-1 major decision over Jude Stark of Medford; Jarick Young (29-9) won the 138-pound championship with a pin of Tommy Tomesh of Regis/Altoona in 2:52; and Gunner Hoffmann (33-1) pinned Craig Ervin of Regis/Altoona in 43 seconds to take the 285-pound title.

Earning second-place finishes for NGL were Hudzon Sebesta-Opelt (27-8) at 132 pounds, Keeghan Anding (28-12) at 132, Dane Luchterhand (31-14) at 170, and Dan Polzin (27-10) at 195.

Tanner Halopka (44-1) won the 145-pound title for Abbotsford/Colby, shutting out Alex Poirier of Bloomer/Colfax 6-0. Carter Grewe (42-2) pinned Polzin to win the 195-pound final, and Levi Dommer (23-19) pinned Noah Knobloch of Regis/Altoona in 3:08 to take the 220-pound championship as well for A/C.

Mason Wolf (16-11) also qualified for sectionals for Spencer/Columbus as he finished second at 113 pounds, losing in the finals by pin by Thaddeus Sigmund of Medford in 1:23.

WIAA Division 2 Wrestling Regional

Feb. 12, at Neillsville High School

Team scores: 1. Neillsville/Greenwood/Loyal 220; 2. Eau Claire Regis/Altoona 198.5; 3. Medford 180; 4. Bloomer/Colfax 128.5; 5. Abbotsford/Colby 120; 6. Chetek-Weyerhauser/Prairie Farm 86; 7. Spencer/Columbus 75.

Click here for complete results, courtesy of

208 views0 comments