top of page


Updated: Jun 16, 2022

Maria Valls Raya was one of four Mosinee Indian softball players to earn first team all-conference honors. Photo Courtesy: Maria Valls Raya Instagram Page

Zaleski Sports

Mosinee, which finished in a three-way tie for the conference championship, earned four first-team players and seven players overall on the 2022 All-Great Northern Conference Softball Team, as voted on by the seven conference coaches following the season.

Mosinee senior Maria Valls Raya, sophomores Amber Gonzalez and Adeline Strejc, and freshman Mikah Keller were among the 12-player first-team honorees.

Valls Raya finished fourth in batting average (.447) and tied for second in RBI (16) for Mosinee, which tied Medford and Antigo for the league title.

Gonzalez was sixth in the conference in hitting at .442, tied for second in stolen bases with 11, tied for first in runs scored with 19, and tied for fourth in RBI with 15 for Mosinee.

Strejc, Mosinee’s main pitcher throughout the season, tied for the conference lead in pitching wins with nine, was fourth in strikeouts with 68, and led the GNC in RBI with 19 while batting .419.

Keller hit .400 in conference play with a conference-best 16 stolen bases for the Indians.

Antigo’s Sam Swartz and Medford’s Martha Miller were named Co-Players of the Year.

Swartz had nine wins and a 1.65 ERA, striking out 90 in 76 1/3 innings. She also hit .439 with 15 RBI.

Miller had seven wins and led the conference in ERA at 1.07, while striking out 100 in just 52 1/3 innings.

Mosinee sophomores Tristan Wicklund and Alanna Bembenek, and senior Hailey Shnowske were second-team picks, and senior Jayden Evenson was an honorable mention choice.

Antigo’s Sandi Robrecht was named Coach of the Year.

2022 All-Great Northern Conference Softball Team

(*denotes unanimous selection)

First team: *Sam Swartz, sr., Antigo; *Laura Burkhart, jr., Antigo; *Martha Miller, jr., Medford; *Maddie Marino, sr., Tomahawk; Makala Beck, jr., Antigo; Saylor Timmerman, fr., Lakeland; Laurissa Klapatauskas, sr., Medford; Allie Paulson, jr., Medford; Maria Valls Raya, sr., Mosinee; Amber Gonzalez, so., Mosinee; Adeline Strejc, so., Mosinee; Mikah Keller, fr., Mosinee.

Second team: Lily Weix, jr., Antigo; Scout Stromberg, so., Tomahawk; Makala Ulrich, sr., Medford; Rynn Ruesch, sr., Medford; Halle Kerner, sr., Northland Pines; Carley Huelskamp, so., Northland Pines; Alanna Bembenek, so., Mosinee; Faith Bussiere, sr., Antigo; Morgan Huegli, jr., Medford; Hailey Shnowske, sr., Mosinee; Tristan Wicklund, so., Mosinee; Madison Stebbeds, sr., Northland Pines.

Honorable mention: Mya Burt, fr., Antigo; Hannah Louis, so., Lakeland; Hope Faude, jr., Medford; Katie Brehm, sr., Medford; Lily Treder, so., Rhinelander; Bella Marino, so., Tomahawk; Macy Jankiewicz, so., Tomahawk; Jenna Czerneski, so., Antigo; Tristin Arlen, fr., Antigo; Madisyn Pilgrim, jr., Medford; Jayden Evenson, sr., Mosinee; Sara Gebauer, fr., Tomahawk.

Co-Players of the Year: Sam Swartz, Antigo, and Martha Miller, Medford.

Coach of the Year: Sandi Robrecht, Antigo.

373 views0 comments