top of page


Marshfield quarterback Joey Goettl was named Valley Football Association West Division Offensive Player of the Year. (Photo by Paul Lecker/For Zaleski Sports)

By Paul Lecker

Zaleski Sports

Champion Marshfield had 10 first-team selections and a pair of individual award winners as the Valley Football Association West Division all-conference teams were announced.

Marshfield senior quarterback Joey Goettl was named Offensive Back and Offensive Player of the Year, and Tigers coach Denny Goettl was named Coach of the Year.

Marshfield finished the VFA West with a 5-3 record, capturing its third-straight conference title.

First-team picks for Marshfield were offensive lineman Matt Rutschow, wide receiver Wyatt LeMoine, Goettl at quarterback, defensive lineman Tyler Wein, defensive end Ethan Dagit, inside linebacker Ben Gust, outside linebacker Emmett Meissner, cornerback Parker Weik, safety Dustin Altman and kicker Kyle Tremelling.

Rutschow, Wein, Dagit, Meissner and Altman were unanimous first-team picks.

Goettl finished fifth in the VFA West in rushing with 429 yards and four touchdowns. He also threw for 970 yards and eight TDs.

LeMoine led the conference in receiving with 46 catches, was second in receiving yards with 492, and tied for fourth in touchdown catches with four.

Altman was seventh (40), Meissner eighth (37) and Gust ninth (34) in the conference in solo tackles.

2019 All-Valley Football Association West Division Football Team


First Team (*denotes unanimous selection)

Line: *Aidan Chacon, sr., D.C. Everest; *Matt Rutschow, sr., Marshfield; *Eli Strong, sr., Stevens Point; *Matthew Schooley, sr., Wisconsin Rapids; Brendan Harder, jr., D.C. Everest; Chandler Vruwink, sr., Wisconsin Rapids.

Fullback/tight end: *Orion Boe, jr., D.C. Everest; *Spencer Wierzba, sr., Stevens Point.

Receivers: *Dylan Lisitza, jr., Wisconsin Rapids; Wyatt LeMoine, jr., Marshfield; Bryan Halambeck, sr., D.C. Everest; Max Helke, jr., Wausau West.

Running backs: *Delton Zuleger, sr., D.C. Everest; *Vercion Gammell, sr., Wisconsin Rapids.

Quarterbacks: Austin Pelot, sr., Wisconsin Rapids; Joey Goettl, sr., Marshfield.

Second Team

Line: Garrett Anderson, jr., Marshfield; Rames Frisch, jr., D.C. Everest; Payton Davczyk, sr., D.C. Everest; Dominic Tilton, jr., D.C. Everest; Devin Dieringer, jr., Marshfield; Ryan Biokhuis, sr., Wisconsin Rapids.

Fullback/tight end: Ean Marciniak, jr., Wausau West.

Receivers: J.J. Lilly, sr., Stevens Point; Simon Slade, jr., Marshfield; Brenden Klish, sr., Stevens Point; Nathan Schooley, sr., Wisconsin Rapids.

Running backs: Sam Hinson, sr., Marshfield; Will Nikolai, jr., Marshfield.

Quarterbacks: Ethan Ostrowski, sr., D.C. Everest; Garrett Richardt, jr., Wausau West.


First Team (*denotes unanimous selection)

Line: *Tyler Wein, sr., Marshfield; Jack Davisson, jr., D.C. Everest; Trever Peterson, jr., Wausau West.

Ends: *Ethan Dagit, jr., Marshfield; Matthew Schooley, sr., Wisconsin Rapids.

Inside linebackers: *Marc Sippel, sr., Wauau West; Orion Boe, jr., D.C. Everest; Ben Gust, sr., Marshfield.

Outside linebackers: *Emmett Meissner, sr., Marshfield; Keaton Edwards, sr., D.C. Everest; Dominic Busko, sr., D.C. Everest.

Cornerbacks: *Reece Ostrowski, sr., D.C. Everest; Parker Weik, jr., Marshfield.

Safeties: *Dustin Altman, sr., Marshfield; *Carter Borchardt, jr., Stevens Point.

Kickers: Kyle Tremelling, sr., Marshfield; Noah Streveler, sr., Stevens Point.

Punter: Dylan Lisitza, jr., Wisconsin Rapids.

Return specialist: *Ty Strehlow, so., D.C. Everest.

Second Team

Line: Tyler Hahm, sr., Marshfield; Eduardo Breunig, sr., D.C. Everest.

Ends: Colton Bundy, jr., D.C. Everest; Daveon Gillespie, so., Wausau West.

Inside linebackers: Ben Raczek, so., Stevens Point; Brett Britz, sr., Stevens Point.

Outside linebackers: Nate Engelkes, sr., Stevens Point; Wesley Schneider, jr., Wausau West; Brenden Braund, jr., Marshfield.

Cornerbacks: Nathan Konkol, jr., Stevens Point; Reed Napiwocki, so., Wausau West.

Safeties: Owen Latendresse, jr., D.C. Everest; Brayden Richardson, sr., Marshfield; Garrett Junemann, sr., Wisconsin Rapids.

Kickers: Bryce Morris, jr., D.C. Everest; Mac Lucas, jr., Wisconsin Rapids; Alec Schuster, so., D.C. Everest.

Punter: Brennan Neitzel, jr., D.C. Everest.

Return specialists: Simon Slade, jr., Marshfield; Brady Dillingham, jr., Stevens Point.

Individual Awards

Offensive lineman of the year: Matthew Schooley, Wisconsin Rapids.