top of page


Updated: Jul 6, 2021

Wisconsin Rapids Megan Clary named WVC Player of the Year

By Paul Lecker

Zaleski Sports

Marshfield junior pitcher Courtney Donahue and senior third baseman Brianna Jakobi were among those selected to the first team of the 2021 All-Wisconsin Valley Conference Softball Team, as voted on by the seven conference coaches following the season.

Donahue was a unanimous first-team selection after going 8-1 with a 3.02 ERA and a conference-best 75 strikeouts in 51 innings, with only 13 walks. She also hit a team-best .448 (13 of 29) with nine RBIs.

Jakobi was one of four infielders named to the first team after batting .400 (16 of 40) with nine RBIs in conference play.

Marshfield third baseman Brianna Jakobi was a first-team selection to the 2021 All-Wisconsin Valley Conference Softball Team. (Photo by Paul Lecker/Zaleski Sports)

Wisconsin Rapids junior shortstop Megan Clary was named the Player of the Year.

Clary led the conference in batting average, hitting .524 (22 of 42), home runs with five, runs scored with 20 and stolen bases with 10, while also knocking in 13 runs.

Wisconsin Rapids had two other first-team selections as junior outfielder Meghan Jochimsen and sophomore pitcher Rhiannon Carroll were unanimous picks.

Jochimsen hit .447 with 14 RBIs and Carroll was 6-3 pitching with a 2.59 ERA and 35 strikeouts. She also batted .351 with three home runs and 11 RBIs.

Stevens Point had one first-team pick in senior outfielder Jenna Eilers. Eilers hit .442 with eight RBIs and 11 runs scored for the Panthers.

Earning second-team honors for Marshfield were junior shortstop Loryn Jakobi and senior outfielder Taylor Barwick. Junior outfielder Brooklyn Bohman and junior catcher Madalen Bornbach were honorable mention choices for the Tigers, who finished 8-4 in fourth place in the conference standings, while also reaching the WIAA Division 1 sectional final.

Loryn Jakobi hit .390 with eight RBIs, Barwick batted .351 with a team-high 15 runs scored and five stolen bases, Bohman hit .333 with 11 runs scored, and Bornbach hit .286 with three home runs and a team-high 14 RBIs during WVC action.

2021 All-Wisconsin Valley Conference Softball Team

*Denotes unanimous selection

First Team

Infielders: *Haylee Schmidt, sr., D.C. Everest; *Megan Clary, jr., Wisconsin Rapids; Brianna Jakobi, sr., Marshfield; Claire Coushman, fr., Wausau East.

Outfielders: *McKenna Hammond, sr., D.C. Everest; *Jenna Eilers, sr., Stevens Point; *Meghan Jochimsen, jr., Wisconsin Rapids.

Catcher: *Calista Fuehrer, sr., D.C. Everest.

Utility: *Paige Kislow, jr., D.C. Everest.

Pitchers: *Courtney Donahue, jr., Marshfield; *Rhiannon Carroll, so., Wisconsin Rapids.

Second Team

Infielders: Riley Pechinski, so., Stevens Point; Lexi Crawford, jr., D.C. Everest; Allison Martin, sr., Wisconsin Rapids; Loryn Jakobi, jr., Marshfield; Kendall Krueger, sr., Merrill; Kit Kronberger, sr., Wausau East.

Outfielders: Kiara Hammond, jr., D.C. Everest; Kyla O’Neal, jr., Stevens Point; Taylor Barwick, sr., Marshfield.

Catcher: Maddy Miklesh, jr., Stevens Point.

Utility: Hayley Wagner, jr., Wisconsin Rapids.

Pitchers: Jaelyn Slowinski, sr., Stevens Point; Cassidy Eckes, sr., D.C. Everest.

Honorable Mention

Infielders: Zoe Fink, jr., Stevens Point; Hannah Losee, sr., Merrill; Taylor Yakey-Hughes, sr., Wausau West; McKenna Williamson, sr., Wisconsin Rapids.

Outfielders: Brooklyn Bohman, jr., Marshfield; Olivia Losee, jr., Merrill; Ally Zimmerman, sr., D.C. Everest; Caitlyn Kaminski, sr., Stevens Point.

Catchers: Madalen Borbach, jr., Marshfield; Chelsie Lambrecht, sr., Wausau East.

Utility: Courtney Krueger, sr., Merrill; Sandra Costa, jr., Marshfield.

Pitcher: Maren Sauvageau, fr., Stevens Point.

Player of the Year: Megan Clary, Wisconsin Rapids.

Coach of the Year: Mike Mathies, D.C. Everest.