top of page


Zaleski Sports

The Wisconsin Collegiate Conference announced its all-conference men’s and women’s basketball teams ahead of its state tournament this weekend.

UW-Stevens Point/Marshfield had four players earn all-conference honors for the men.

Jack Bezlyk (Spencer High School) and Colton Wright (Auburndale) were first-team selections, and Joe Fields (Milwaukee Obama SCTE) and Ethan Posteluk (Marshfield) were second-team picks for Marshfield.

Bezlyk averaged 16.1 points and 12.8 rebounds per game, and Wright averaged 13.6 and five rebounds per game for the Marauders. Posteluk led Marshfield in scoring at 18 points per game, and Fields averaged 11.8 points and 9.0 rebounds per game this season as the Marauders finished 7-8 and lost in the first-round of the WCC playoffs on Feb. 12 to Fond du Lac, 94-81.

Marshfield’s Wright and Matthew Roth (Colby) were named to the five-man all-defensive team.

Marauders head coach Jared Ystad was named Coach of the Year and Chase Bonnell of UW-Stevens Point/Wausau was named Player of the Year.

Marshfield’s Kara Milkey, a sophomore from Wisconsin Rapids Assumption was a second-team selection after averaging a double-double for the Marauders at 16 points and 15.2 rebounds per game. Mary Ann Stangl (Marshfield) and Sydney Peterson (Wisconsin Rapids Lincoln) were honorable mention choices, and Montana Acker (Loyal) was named to the all-defensive team for the Marauders, who finished 2-9 this season.

Patience Pyan (Merrill) of UW-Stevens Point/Wausau was named Player of the Year.

The WCC state tournaments will be held at JustAGame Fieldhouse in Wisconsin Dells this weekend, with semifinals on Saturday and the two championship games on Sunday.

Fox Cities will play Barron and Washington County will take on Wausau in the women’s semifinals on Saturday.

In the men’s semifinals, Fox Cities will play Wausau and Waukesha will take on Sheboygan.

2019-20 All-Wisconsin Collegiate Conference West Division Men’s Basketball Team First team: Chase Bonnell, fr., Wausau; Ian Gibbs, so., Wausau; Chrisitan Webb, so., Baraboo; Jack Bezlyk, so., Marshfield; Colton Wright, fr., Marshfield. Second team: Ethan Posteluk, so., Marshfield; Cody Haske, fr., Baraboo; Joey Davidson, fr., Baraboo; Jontae Powell, so., Richland; Joe Fields, fr., Marshfield; Jordan Jenkins, so., Baraboo. Honorable mention: Austin Frick, so., Wausau; Cade Bowker, fr., Wausau; Dawson Mueller, so., Richland; Nicholas Fry, so., Baraboo. All-Defensive Team: Ian Gibbs, so., Wausau; Colton Wright, fr., Marshfield; Christian Webb, so., Baraboo; L.J. Schmelzer, fr., Wausau; Matthew Roth, fr., Marshfield. Player of the Year: Chase Bonnell, Wausau. Defensive Player of the Year: Ian Gibbs, Wausau. Coach of the Year: Jared Ystad, Marshfield. — 2019-20 All-Wisconsin Collegiate Conference Women’s Basketball Team First team: Patience Pyan, so., Wausau; Krista Lien, so., Barron; Brandi Gauthier, fr., Barron; Brittany Ange, so., Wausau; Madison Aubry, fr., Washington County. Second team: Skye Rodriguez, fr., Fox Cities; Kara Milkey, so., Marshfield; Brianne Burnett, Marinette; Alysssa Ranney, so., Barron; Macey Klebesadel, so., Richland. Honorable mention: Kateri Hackel, fr., Wausau; Emma Chase, fr., Fox Cities; Lilly Scheffler, fr., Fox Cities; Morgan Pagel, so., Fox Cities; Hannah Swanson, so., Marinette; Paige Reiswitz, so., Marinette; Mary Ann Stangl, fr., Marshfield; Sydney Peterson, fr., Marshfield. All-Defensive Team: Brittany Ange, so., Wausau; Emma Chase, fr., Fox Cities; Brianna Crotteau, fr., Barron; Montana Acker, fr., Marshfield; Macy Klebesadel, so., Richland. Player of the Year: Patience Pyan, Wausau. Defensive Player of the Year: Brittany Ange, Wausau. Coach of the Year: Paul Ihrcke, Barron.

19 views0 comments