top of page


Marshfield senior Kyle Tremelling was named as a repeat performer on the All-Wisconsin Valley Conference Boys Soccer Team. (Photo by Paul Lecker/For Zaleski Sports))

By Paul Lecker For Zaleski Sports

Marshfield had two first-team and one second-team selection to the 2019 All-Wisconsin Valley Conference Boys Soccer Team, which was voted on by the seven conference coaches following the regular season.

Marshfield senior forward Kyle Tremelling was a unanimous first-team pick, and junior midfielder Sam Roherty also earned first-team honors for the Tigers, who finished 12-7-2 overall and 8-3-1 and third place in the Wisconsin Valley Conference.

Tremelling led Marshfield with 13 goals in conference play, which was tied for third in the WVC.

Roherty had five goals and two assists in the Tigers’ 12 conference games, finishing 11th overall in scoring.

Junior midfielder Spencer Frey was Marshfield’s lone second-team selection. He had three goals and three assists in WVC play this season.

Conference champion Wausau West had four first-team picks, including senior goalkeeper Noah Knezic, who was named Player of the Year.

Knezic allowed just eight goals in 10 games, finishing with a 9-1 record and 59 saves.

D.C. Everest senior forward Tamirat Knutson, Stevens Point sophomore forward Owen Williams, and Wausau West junior midfielders Ethan Cattanach and Nick Raasch were also unanimous first-team selections.

Knutson and Williams tied for the conference lead in goals with 14. Escalera had 13 goals and Raasch 12.

Knutson and Tremelling were both repeat first-team picks.

2019 All-Wisconsin Valley Conference Boys Soccer Team First Team (*denotes unanimous selection) Goalkeeper: *Noah Knezic, sr., Wausau West. Forwards: *Tamirat Knutson, sr., D.C. Everest; *Kyle Tremelling, sr., Marshfield; *Owen Williams, so., Stevens Point; Isaias Escalara, jr., Wisconsin Rapids. Midfielders: *Ethan Cattanach, jr., Wausau West; *Nick Raasch, jr., Wausau West; Sam Roherty, jr., Marshfield; Jake Williams, jr., Stevens Point. Defenders: Tim DeLoye, jr., Wausau West; Alek Zavadoski, so., Wausau East. Second Team Goalkeeper: Spencer Banks, jr., Stevens Point. Forwards: Kyle Durr, sr., Wausau West; Diego Sanchez, sr., D.C. Everest; Arath Medina, sr., Wausau West; Connor Schommer, jr., D.C. Everest. Midfielders: Joey TerMaat, jr., Wisconsin Rapids; Spencer Frey, jr., Marshfield; Geno Zecca, so., Merrill; Oliver Hayes, sr., Wisconsin Rapids. Defenders: Marshall Sallet, sr., Stevens Point; Carlos Perez, sr., Stevens Point; Aiden Dunn, fr., Wisconsin Rapids. Honorable Mention Goalkeepers: Matt Schafer, sr., D.C. Everest; Trevor Cassidy, jr., Marshfield. Forwards: Colton Thielman, so., Stevens Point; Will Clancy, sr., Wausau West; Ben Omernik, fr., Stevens Point. Midfielders: Tristan Anderson, jr., Stevens Point; Jerome Schroeder, jr., Wausau West; Bennett Koehn, sr., Marshfield. Defenders: Noah Streveler, sr., Stevens Point; Caleb Novitch, sr., Merrill; Andrew Heinzen, sr., Wausau East; Cole Woellner, jr., Merrill; Asa Battino, jr., Wausau West; Caleb Lemieux, fr., Wisconsin Rapids. Player of the Year: Noah Knezic, sr., goalkeeper, Wausau West.

4 views0 comments