top of page


Updated: Sep 8, 2021

Wisconsin Rapids Assumption softball player Ava Schill has been voted as the & Zaleski Sports June High School Athlete of the Month. Photo Courtesy: Robyn Austin

Zaleski Sports

Wisconsin Rapids Assumption softball player Ava Schill has been voted as the & Zaleski Sports May High School Athlete of the Month.

The High School Athlete of the Month Award main sponsor for the 2020-21 school year is Awards ‘n’ More of Wisconsin Rapids. The monthly award will continue through June 2021, and the winner of the & Zaleski Sports High School Athlete of the Year will be announced in July.

Varsity athletes from the following high schools are eligible to be nominated for the award: Abbotsford, Assumption, Athens, Auburndale, Colby, Columbus Catholic, Edgar, Granton, Greenwood, Loyal, Marathon, Marshfield, Mosinee, Neillsville, Owen-Withee, Pacelli, Pittsville, Spencer, Stevens Point, Stratford, Thorp and Wisconsin Rapids Lincoln.

Schill earned nearly 824 of the approximately 2,100 votes cast during voting from June 2-8 at

Other nominees for the May award were: Stratford baseball player Riley Bauman, Greenwood/Loyal softball player Kaitlyn Lindner, Marshfield girls track athlete Sophie Nikolay, Stevens Point golfer Logan Pechinski and Auburndale baseball player Hunter Wright.

Schill went 10-1 in May as the Royals’ top pitcher. Schill allowed just six earned runs in 11 pitching appearances, posting a 0.76 ERA. She had 105 strikeouts and only 13 walks in 55 innings, and also hit a whopping .515 with 12 RBIs and four doubles during the month.

Nominate someone now for the June award by emailing Paul Lecker at Please include relative statistics and reasons for that athlete’s nomination. Voting for the June award will take place at from July 1-7.

Schill joins Marshfield Columbus Catholic soccer player Alex Edwards (September), Marshfield girls swimmer Faith Risa (October), Marshfield football player Wyatt LeMoine (November), Mosinee girls basketball player Alexis Frieboth (December), Edgar girls basketball player Makenna Guden (January), Stratford wrestler Gavin Drexler (February), the Edgar boys basketball team (March), and Assumption softball player Cristin Casey (April) as winners of the award during the 2020-21 school year.

214 views0 comments