top of page


Auburndale senior Natalie Aue was a unanimous first-team selection on the 2019-20 All-Marawood Conference South Division Girls Basketball Team. (Photo by Steve Pilz/For Zaleski Sports)

By Paul Lecker For Zaleski Sports

Auburndale senior forward Natalie Aue was one of four unanimous selections to the first team of the 2019-20 All-Marawood Conference South Division Girls Basketball Team, as voted on by the six conference coaches following the conclusion of the regular season.

Aue averaged 11 points and 6.4 rebounds per game to lead Auburndale in both categories as the Apaches tied Marathon for second place in the conference standings behind Newman Catholic.

Wisconsin Rapids Assumption senior Madalyn Bohn, Edgar junior Makenna Guden and Wausau Newman Catholic senior Julia Seidel were also unanimous first-team picks. Elizabeth Boehm, a Marathon senior, also was named to the first team.

Makenna Guden

Seidel was named Marawood South Player of the Year after averaging 15.4 points per game. She shot 81.4 percent from the free throw line and made 51 3-pointers for the Cardinals, who won the conference title and qualified for the WIAA state tournament.

Guden led the conference in scoring at 20.2 points per game, making a league-high 63 pointers.

Bohn averaged 15.9 points and eight rebounds per game, and Boehm 14.1 points per contest.

Stratford junior Breanna Ackley and Auburndale junior Georgi Schmutzer were among the second-team picks.

Ackley led Stratford in scoring at 16.1 points per game and rebounding at 7.7 per contest.

Schmutzer averaged 9.2 points per game and made 47 3-pointers, which was fifth-best in the conference.

Newman Catholic’s Paul Haag was named Coach of the Year.

2019-20 All-Marawood Conference South Division Girls Basketball Team (*denotes unanimous selection) First team: *Madalyn Bohn, sr., Wisconsin Rapids Assumption; *Natalie Aue, sr., Auburndale; *Makenna Guden, jr., Edgar; *Julia Seidel, sr., Wausau Newman Catholic; Elizabeth Boehm, sr., Marathon. Second team: Gabriella Keim, jr., Edgar; Georgi Schmutzer, jr., Auburndale; Kyli Blume, sr., Marathon; Lauren Shields, sr., Wausau Newman Catholic; Jadelyn Ganski, sr., Wausau Newman Catholic; Breanna Ackley, jr., Stratford. Honorable mention: Jessie Grundhoffer, jr., Wisconsin Rapids Assumption; Kendall Schmidt, jr., Wisconsin Rapids Assumption; Isabelle Hilber, sr., Auburndale; Kaitlyn Kundinger, jr., Auburndale; Marissa Ellenbecker, sr., Edgar; Teresa Hackel, sr., Edgar; Allison Wokatsch, so., Marathon; Anna Cleven, jr., Marathon; Alex Frankel, sr., Wausau Newman Catholic; Jaida Heinz, sr., Wausau Newman Catholic; Tanaya Schillinger, jr., Stratford; Emily Hughes, jr., Stratford. Coach of the Year: Paul Haag, Wausau Newman Catholic. Player of the Year: Julia Seidel, Wausau Newman Catholic.

8 views0 comments