top of page


Dylan Baird

Zaleski Sports

SHAWANO – Auburndale senior Dylan Baird and Pittsville's Camron Dammann and Peter Esser qualified for the state tournament after earning a top-three finishes at the WIAA Division 3 Individual Wrestling Sectional on Saturday at Shawano High School.

Baird (31-1) finished third at 138 pounds to earn a spot in the 2020 WIAA State Individual Wrestling Tournament at the Kohl Center in Madison on Feb. 27-29.

Baird lost in the championship match to Karson Casper of Coleman 3-1, then fell in the second-place wrestleback 14-9 to Max Sokolski of Bonduel to finish third.

Auburndale’s other five sectional qualifiers did not earn a spot in the state field.

Noah Altmann finished fourth at 120 pounds, losing in the third-place match to Jericho Helser of Shiocton by pin in 2:59.

Hunter Godard (126), Cody Poeschel (160), Sloan Welch (170) and Brice Thiel (195) all lost in the opening round. Poeschel and Thiel reached the consolation bracket, but lost their first matches.

Dammann (27-7) finished second at 132 pounds, winning a third-place match and a second-place wrestleback. Esser (25-13) won his third-place match at 106 pounds to also qualify for state for the Panthers.

2020 WIAA Division 3 Individual Wrestling Sectional Feb. 22, at Shawano High School Team scores: 1. Coleman 222; 2. Brillion 72.5; 3. Bonduel 72; 4. Rosholt 59; 5. Weyauwega-Fremont 58.5; 6. Manawa 55.5; 7. Amherst 52.5; 8. Mishicot 34; 9. Shiocton 32; 10. Crivitz 31; 11. Crandon and Reedsville 26; 13. Pittsville and Southern Door 25; 15. Auburndale 21; 16. Lena 19; 17. Wabeno Area/Laona 16; 18. Almond-Bancroft/Pacelli and Tri-County 11; 20. Three Lakes/Phelps 8; 21. Oconto 2; 22. Menominee Indian 0. Top three finishers qualify for WIAA State Individual Wrestling Tournament in Madison, Feb. 27-29. 106 pounds Championship: Ray LeMieux (COLE) pinned Luke Misco (LENA), 1:02. Third place: Peter Esser (PIT) def. Talon Armatoski (AM), 7-4. 113 pounds Championship: Grant Geiger (BRIL) def. Kevin Klemm (MAN) by medical forfeit. Third place: Chance Gruber (COLE) won major dec. over Dominic Thoresen (CRIV), 11-1. 120 pounds Championship: Carter Greening (WF) pinned Colten Klemm (MAN), 0:17. Third place: Jericho Helser (SHI) pinned Noah Altmann (AUB), 2:59. Second-place wrestleback: Klemm def. Helser, 11-6. 126 pounds Championship: Bo Niewiadomski (ROS) def. Griffin Slezewski (SD), 5-0. Third place: Will Bieber (COLE) pinned Brett Palubicki (CRAN), 5:29. Second-place wrestleback: Bieber pinned Slezewski, 0:50. 132 pounds Championship: Jayson Toellner (BON) pinned Ryan Applebee (TC), 3:02. Third place: Camron Dammann (PIT) def. Piersson Czaplinski (TLP), 3-1. Second-place wrestleback: Dammann def. Applebee, 8-6 (SV-1). 138 pounds Championship: Karson Casper (COLE) def. Dylan Baird (AUB), 3-1. Thrid place: Max Sokolski (BON) pinned Landon Kasper (REED), 1:55. Second-place wrestleback: Sokolski def. Baird, 14-9. 145 pounds Championship: Garnett Stebane (BRIL) won major dec. over Sam Kuchta (COLE), 14-6. Third place: Kolton Tesarik (MIS) def. Bryan Griffin (MAN), 7-2. 152 pounds Championship: Mason Haas (AM) won by technical fall over Ryan Roy (WL), 24-8. Third place: Grant Englebert (SD) def. Jakob Horton (COLE), 6-1. 160 pounds Championship: Tyler Blanchard (COLE) def. Breed Shepard (CRAN), injury default. Third place: Dion Helser (SHI) pinned Max Meyerhofer (WF), 3:15. Second-place wrestleback: Shepard pinned Helser, 1:21. 170 pounds Championship: Adam Charnecke (ROS) def. Cole Klimek (COLE), 5-2. Third place: Garrett Kilgas (BRIL) pinned Ezekial Lawrence (CRIV), 5:32. 182 pounds Championship: John Bieber (COLE) pinned Reese Anderson (ROS), 3:40. Third place: Ben Strehlow (WF) pinned Tristan Tomashek (BON), 5:09. Second-place wrestleback: Anderson pinned Strehlow, 2:50. 195 pounds Championship: Shamus McLain (COLE) def. Sam Galoff (BRIL), 7-0. Third place: Isaac Banker (BON) won technical fall over Brock Sanger (WF), 16-0. Second-place wrestleback: Banker def. Galoff, 6-2. 220 pounds Championship: Frank Koeppel (MISH) pinned Andrew Elmhorst (MAN), 1:12. Third place: Cole Ebert (REED) def. Brody Zahn (COLE), 8-2. 285 pounds Championship: Spencer Karban (COLE) def. John Farkas (AM), 3-2. Third place: Jaden Bemis (CRIV) won major dec. over Derek Lockhart (ABP), 12-3.

3 views0 comments