Eastern Cloverbelt Player of the Year, Bella Opelt (photo courtesy Sandy Schmidt Photography)

By Paul Lecker

For Zaleski Sports

Neillsville senior Bella Opelt was named Player of the Year and was one of six players selected to the first team of the 2020-21 All-Cloverbelt Conference East Division Girls Basketball Team as voted on by the nine conference coaches following the season.

Opelt is a repeat first-team performer and was joined on the first team by teammate Emma Moseley, a junior, as the Warriors went a perfect 14-0 to win the Cloverbelt East championship.

Joining the two Neillsville players on the first team were Loyal seniors Savannah Schley and Kaitlyn Lindner, Spencer junior Heavyn Kind and Granton senior Kristin Strey.

Spencer's Heavyn Kind (5) was a first-team selection on the 2020-21 All-Cloverbelt Conference East Division Girls Basketball Team. (Photo courtesy of Lucky Shot Photography)

Strey led the conference in scoring at 16.3 points per game and was second in rebounding at 10.5 per contest.

Schley, a second-team selection last year, finished second in scoring right behind Strey at 16.2 points per game, while Opelt was third at 14.9.

Kind, a second-team performer in 2019-20, led Spencer in scoring at 14.3 points per contest.

Lindner scored 9.8 points per game while making 40 3-pointers for Loyal, and Moseley averaged 6.8 points and 5 rebounds per game for Neillsville.

Columbus Catholic senior Emmalee Jicinsky was among the second-team picks after averaging 7 points per game for the Dons.

2020-21 All-Cloverbelt Conference East Division Girls Basketball Team

First team: Kristin Strey, sr., Granton; Savannah Schley, sr., Loyal; Kaitlyn Lindner, sr., Loyal; Bella Opelt, sr., Neillsville; Emma Moseley, jr., Neillsville; Heavyn Kind, jr., Spencer.

Second team: Emma Peavey, sr., Colby; Emmalee Jicinsky, sr., Marshfield Columbus Catholic; Tatum Weir, so., Gilman; Kayla Bremmer, sr., Loyal; Amelia Trunkel, so., Neillsville; Paris Opelt, fr., Neillsville.

Honorable mention: Lexi Underwood, sr., Colby; Jenna Kibbel, so., Marshfield Columbus Catholic; Emma Grunseth, jr., Gilman; Celine Wuethrich, sr., Greenwood; Terren Stockheimer, sr., Neillsville; Zalexis Mannigel, sr., Spencer.

Player of the Year: Bella Opelt, Neillsville.

169 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All