top of page


Colby senior Richard Streveler was named Cloverbelt Conference East Division boys basketball Player of the Year after averaging nearly 20 points per game this past season. (Paul Lecker file photo)

By Paul Lecker

Zaleski Sports

Colby senior guard Richard Streveler was named Player of the Year and was one of six first-team selections to the 2021-22 All-Cloverbelt Conference East Division Boys Basketball Team, as voted on by the eight conference coaches following the season.

Streveler was joined on the first team by sophomore Emmitt Konieczny and senior Sam Wilczek of Marshfield Columbus Catholic, junior Andrew Brown and senior Mason Roenz of Neillsville, and Owen-Withee junior Logan Amacher.

Columbus Catholic sophomore Emmitt Konieczny earned first-team honors on the 2021-22 All-Cloverbelt Conference East Division Boys Basketball Team after helping lead the Dons to the conference championship. (Paul Lecker file photo)

Streveler led the conference in scoring at 19.2 points per game, while shooting 81.5 percent at the free throw line. He also led the Hornets in rebounding (7.1), assists (4.6) and steals (3.4).

Konieczny led Columbus Catholic in scoring at 13.7 points per game, with 59 made 3-pointers. He also led the Dons in rebounding (4.6) and assists (3.7) in helping Columbus Catholic to the conference title.

Wilczek was second on the team in scoring at 12.4 points per game, while shooting 83 percent at the free throw line and making 48 3-pointers.

Brown topped Neillsville in scoring at 16.3 points per game with 52 3-pointers, while Roenz averaged 13.4 points and 9.6 rebounds per game for the Warriors, who finished second in the conference standings.

Amacher averaged 14.3 points and 8.2 rebounds per game for Owen-Withee.

2021-22 All-Cloverbelt Conference East Division Girls Basketball Team

First team: Richard Streveler, sr., Colby; Emmitt Konieczny, so., Marshfield Columbus Catholic; Sam Wilczek, sr., Marshfield Columbus Catholic; Andrew Brown, jr., Neillsville; Mason Roenz, sr., Neillsville; Logan Amacher, jr., Owen-Withee.

Second team: Brody Decker, sr., Colby; Mateo Lopez, sr., Colby; Blake Jakobi, so., Marshfield Columbus Catholic; Deagaen Sandelier, sr., Loyal; Santana Subke, sr., Neillsville; Kaleb Brandt, sr., Spencer.

Honorable mention: Kaden Weise, jr., Colby; Cole Noreen, sr., Marshfield Columbus Catholic; Charlie Moore, so., Marshfield Columbus Catholic; Grant Olson, jr., Marshfield Columbus Catholic; Kaiden Hagen, sr., Loyal; Tyler Weaver, sr., Owen-Withee.

Player of the Year: Richard Streveler, Colby.

251 views0 comments