top of page


By Paul Lecker

Zaleski Sports

Athens senior Dayne Diethelm was one of four Bluejays named to the first team of the 2021 All-Marawood Conference North Division Baseball Team, and selected as conference Player of the Year.

Joining Diethelm from Athens on the first team were seniors Jake Denzine and Cobie Ellenbecker, and junior Cooper Diedrich.

Abbotsford’s Ross Elmhorst, Hunter Soyk and Cade Faber, and Rib Lake’s Carter Scheithauer, Brock Thiede and Jordan Yanko rounded out the 10 first-team selections.

Athens, Rib Lake and Abbotsford tied for the Marawood North championship with 8-2 records.

Diethelm, a pitcher and infielder, went 6-2 with a save in nine pitching appearances with a miniscule 0.31 ERA and 61 strikeouts in 45 1/3 innings. He also hit .538 (28-for-52) with 15 RBIs, 27 runs scored, three doubles and three triples.

Diedrich batted .400 with 14 RBIs, 25 runs, four doubles, two triples and a home run, and was 3-2 with a 2.08 ERA pitching; Denzine hit .339 with 11 RBIs and 24 runs scored; and Ellenbecker hit .460 with 18 RBIs and 21 runs, and went 1-1 pitching for Athens.

Elmhorst hit .419 for Abbotsford with a pair of homers, five doubles, three triples, 18 RBIs and 36 runs scored, and was 3-3 with 33 strikeouts pitching.

Soyk went 3-2 pitching with a 2.33 ERA and 47 strikeouts in 30 innings, and hit .443 with 17 RBIs and 31 runs; and Faber hit .355 with two homers, 22 RBIs and 23 runs for the Falcons.

2021 All-Marawood Conference North Division Baseball Team

*Denotes unanimous selection

First team: *Ross Elmhorst, sr., Abbotsford; *Hunter Soyk, sr., Abbotsford; *Cade Faber, sr., Abbotsford; *Dayne Diethelm, sr., Athens; *Jake Denzine, sr., Athens; *Cooper Diedrich, jr., Athens; Cobie Ellenbecker, sr., Athens; *Carter Scheithauer, sr., Rib Lake; *Brock Thiede, sr., Rib Lake; *Jordan Yanko, jr., Rib Lake.

Second team: Brandon Diedrich, so., Abbotsford; Nick Olvera, jr., Abbotsford; Mateo Lopez, so., Abbotsford; Kyler Ellenbecker, so., Athens; Kody Lepak, jr., Athens; John Miller, sr., Chequamegon; James Bruhn, so., Phillips; Sam Gumz, jr., Rib Lake; Michael Borchardt, so., Rib Lake; Logan Blomberg, jr., Rib Lake.

Honorable mention: Marco Olvera, sr., Abbotsford; Mason Carpenter, sr., Abbotsford; Brooks Kraus, jr., Athens; Connor Sheahan, so., Athens; Mitchell Hecimovich, sr., Chequamegon; Tyler Pollex, jr., Chequamegon; E.J. Bogdan, sr., Phillips; Dawson Hauschild, jr., Phillips; Isaac Raab, jr., Prentice; Hunter Logan, jr., Prentice; Ryan Patrick, sr., Rib Lake; Jackson Blomberg, fr., Rib Lake.

Player of the Year: Dayne Diethelm, Athens.

Coach of the Year: Dick Iverson, Rib Lake.

328 views0 comments