top of page


By Paul Lecker

Zaleski Sports

The Division 1 brackets for the WIAA softball playoffs have been released.

Play begins with regional semifinals on Monday, June 14, with regional finals set for Wednesday, June 16. Sectionals will be on June 21 and June 23, with the eight sectional champions in Division 1 moving on to the 2021 WIAA State Softball Tournament on June 28-30.

Division 1 state quarterfinals will be played at Bay Port High School in Green Bay on June 28, with semifinals later that night at the University of Wisconsin-Green Bay. The D-1 championship game will be on June 30 at UW-Green Bay.

Six Wisconsin Valley Conference teams will be playing in the Sectional 1 bracket.

No. 5 Marshfield will be at No. 4 Wisconsin Rapids, No. 6 Wausau East is at No. 3 Stevens Point, and No. 7 Wausau West will play at No. 2 Superior in regional semifinals June 14. D.C. Everest, the WVC champions, earned a bye into the regional finals on June 16 when it will host the winner of Marshfield and Wisconsin Rapids.

Here is a look at all of the Division 1 pairings:

2021 WIAA State Softball Playoffs

Division 1

Sectional 1

Regional Semifinals

Monday, June 14

No. 5 Marshfield at No. 4 Wisconsin Rapids

No. 6 Wausau East at No. 3 Stevens Point

No. 7 Wausau West at No. 2 Superior

No. 5 Menomonie at No. 4 New Richmond

No. 6 River Falls at No. 3 Eau Claire North

No. 7 Eau Claire Memorial at No. 2 Chippewa Falls

Regional Finals

Wednesday, June 16

Marshfield-Wisconsin Rapids winner at No. 1 D.C. Everest

Menomonie-New Richmond winner at No. 1 Hudson

Sectional 2

Regional Semifinals

Monday, June 14

No. 5 West De Pere at No. 4 Appleton East

No. 6 Appleton North at No. 3 Kimberly

No. 7 Appleton West at No. 2 Hortonville

No. 5 De Pere at No. 4 Ashwaubenon

No. 6 Green Bay Southwest at No. 3 Pulaski

No. 7 Green Bay West/Green Bay East/Oneida Nation at No. 2 Bay Port

Regional Finals

Wednesday, June 16

Appleton East-West De Pere winner at No. 1 Kaukauna

Ashwaubenon-De Pere winner at No. 1 Green Bay Preble

Sectional 3

Regional Semifinals

Monday, June 14

No. 5 La Crosse Central at No. 4 DeForest

No. 6 Onalaska at No. 3 Holmen

No. 7 Waunakee at No. 2 Baraboo

No. 5 Madison Memorial at No. 4 Monona Grove

No. 6 Madison East at No. 3 Middleton

No. 7 Madison West at No. 2 Verona

Regional Finals

Wednesday, June 16

DeForest-La Crosse Central winner at No. 1 Tomah

Monona Grove-Madison Memorial winner at No. 1 Sun Prairie

Sectional 4

Regional Semifinals

Monday, June 14

No. 5 West Bend West at No. 4 Watertown

No. 6 Fond du Lac at No. 3 Slinger

No. 7 West Bend East at No. 2 Hartford

No. 5 Sheboygan North at No. 4 Manitowoc

No. 6 Oshkosh North at No. 3 Menasha

Regional Finals

Wednesday, June 16

Watertown-West Bend West winner at No. 1 Beaver Dam

Manitowoc-Sheboygan North winner at No. 1 Oshkosh West

Menasha-Oshkosh North winner at No. 2 Neenah

Sectional 5

Regional Semifinals

Monday, June 14

No. 5 Milton at No. 4 Beloit Memorial

No. 6 Stoughton at No. 3 Janesville Craig

No. 7 Madison La Follette at No. 2 Oregon

No. 5 Waterford at No. 4 Fort Atkinson

No. 6 Mukwonago at No. 3 Kettle Moraine

No. 7 Lake Geneva Badger at No. 2 Burlington

Regional Finals

Wednesday, June 16