top of page


Stratford hitter Mikayla Guldan was one of three Tigers chosen to the first team of the 2019 All-Marawood Conference South Volleyball Team. (Photo by Paul Lecker/For Zaleski Sports)

By Paul Lecker

For Zaleski Sports

Champion Stratford had three first-team selections to the 2019 All-Marawood Conference South Division Girls Volleyball Team, as voted on by the six conference coaches following the regular season.

Stratford swept Marawood South play this past season with a 5-0 record and had six players overall on the all-conference team.

Top hitter Mikayla Guldan, libero McKenna Krall, and Kamrym Schueller were named to the first team for the Tigers, Guldan and Krall unanimously.

Hitter/setter Lauryn Nagel was a second-team pick, and setter Abby Oertel and Tanaya Schillinger were honorable mention choices for Stratford.

Auburndale had one unanimous first-team selection – junior setter Georgi Schmutzer. Seniors Natalie Aue and Katie Helminiak were second-team picks, and seniors Brianna Haasl and Maggie Willfahrt were honorable mention for the Apaches, who finished in fourth place at 2-3.

Rounding out the first-team honorees were Marathon senior Elizabeth Boehm, and Wausau Newman Catholic seniors Lauren Shields and Linnea Svennes, all unanimously.

2019 All-Marawood Conference South Division Volleyball Team First Team (* denotes unanimous selection): *Georgi Schmutzer, jr., Auburndale; *Elizabeth Boehm, sr., Marathon; *Lauren Shields, sr., Wausau Newman Catholic; *Linnea Svennes, sr., Wausau Newman Catholic; *Mikayla Guldan, jr., Stratford; *McKenna Krall, sr., Stratford; Kamryn Schueller, sr., Stratford. Second Team: Natalie Aue, sr., Auburndale; Katie Helminiak, sr., Auburndale; Bailey Imhoff, sr., Edgar; Kyli Blume, sr., Marathon; Evelyn Gabriel, sr., Wausau Newman Catholic; Angela Rougeot-Donath, jr., Wausau Newman Catholic; Lauryn Nagel, jr., Stratford. Honorable Mention: Maddy Bohn, sr., Wisconsin Rapids Assumption; Kendall Schill, sr., Wisconsin Rapids Assumption; Maggie Willfahrt, sr., Auburndale; Brianna Haasl, sr., Auburndale; Gabbi Keim, so., Edgar; Reagan Borchardt, fr., Edgar; Bradyn Free, jr., Marathon; Hope Krautkramer, jr., Marathon; Stevie Samuels, jr., Wausau Newman Catholic; Elise Johnson, sr., Wausau Newman Catholic; Tanaya Schillinger, jr., Stratford; Abby Oertel, jr., Stratford.

5 views0 comments