top of page


Stratford’s Colten Schillinger was named the Central Wisconsin Conference Large Division Defensive Player of the Year, and also was a second-team all-conference selection at running back. (Photo by Paul Lecker/For Zaleski Sports)

By Paul Lecker

For Zaleski Sports

The Spencer/Columbus Catholic and Stratford football teams were well represented on the 2020 All-Central Wisconsin Conference Large Division Football Team, which was voted on by the conference coaches following the season.

Spencer/Columbus had four first-team selections, including two-way pick Eden Jacobson (running back and linebacker). Senior offensive lineman Austin Grubofski and junior defensive back Cole Timmler were also first-team choices for the Rockets, who finished 5-3 overall and 5-2 in the CWC Large.

Jacobson ran for 1,214 yards and 18 touchdowns, and caught 28 passes for 291 yards and three more scores for the Rockets. He scored 21 of the team’s 28 TDs this season.

Timmler had 54 tackles and two interceptions.

Spencer/Columbus senior Eden Jacobson was a two-way first-team selection to the 2020 All-Central Wisconsin Conference Large Division Football Team. (File photo)

Stratford, which went 5-2 overall and 3-1 in conference play, had five players picked to the first team.

On the defense, the Tigers were represented on the first team by senior linebacker Colten Schillinger, who was chosen as the CWC Large Defensive Player of the Year, junior defensive back Elijah Lucio, and junior defensive lineman Devin Ulrich.

Offensive lineman Zack Seitz, a junior, and senior running back Beau Gross were first-team picks on the offense for Stratford.

Gross ran for 663 yards and five touchdowns, and caught 12 passes for 171 yards and four scores to lead the Tigers’ offense.

Schillinger had 40 tackles, including three sacks, and an interception that he returned for a touchdown.

Amherst quarterback Tristan Schelvan was named Offensive Player of the Year after leading the Falcons to the conference title. Schelvan threw for 1,540 yards and 25 touchdowns, and rushed for 1,195 yards and 14 touchdowns as the Falcons went 8-1 and 5-1 in the CWC Large.

2020 All-Central Wisconsin Conference Large Division Football Team


First Team

Kicker: Josh Bentley, sr., Amherst.

Fullback/tight end: Ian Hall, jr., Amherst.

Line: Zack Seitz, jr., Stratford; Logan Cleary, sr., Nekoosa; Austin Grubofski, sr., Spencer/Columbus; Eugene Gregorich, sr., Amherst; Andrew Elmhorst, sr., Manawa.

Quarterback: Tristan Schelvan, sr., Amherst.

Running back: Beau Gross, sr., Stratford; Eden Jacobson, sr., Spencer/Columbus.

Wide receiver: Carmelo Aleman, sr., Amherst; Riley Krenke, sr., Manawa.

Second Team