top of page


Marshfield’s Hoyt Blaskowski takes control of D.C. Everest’s Blake Heal on his way to a 9-1 win in the 138-pound championship match at the WIAA Division 1 wrestling regional Saturday at Marshfield High School. (Photo by Paul Lecker/Zaleski Sports)

Zaleski Sports

MARSHFIELD – Marshfield won seven individual titles and took the team championship at the WIAA Division 1 wrestling regional Saturday at the Chips Hamburgers Fieldhouse at Marshfield High School.

The top four finishers in each weight class move on to the Division 1 individual sectional on Feb. 19 at Eau Claire North.

Marshfield will compete at the D-1 team sectional at Wausau West on Tuesday against River Falls for a berth in the WIAA Team State Wrestling Championships, which will be held March 4-5 at the University of Wisconsin Fieldhouse in Madison.

Marshfield finished with 259.5 points, with Wausau West was second with 215 points. Stevens Point was fourth with 135 points and had seven sectional qualifiers.

Marshfield will send 12 wrestlers to the individual sectional as seven of the eight Tigers that reached the finals won. Three others placed third and another in fourth.

Caleb Dennee (39-8) started the championship parade for the Tigers as he won the 120-pound title in the final seconds with a 6-4 win over Easton Cooper of D.C. Everest.

Keagan Cliver (43-5) started a string of six finals in a row that saw a Marshfield champion crowned. Cliver won a major decision over Maddox Rye of Wausau East, 11-3, to take the 132-pound title.

Hoyt Blaskowski (34-3 at 138), Brett Franklin (35-5 at 143), Garrett Willuweit (24-4 at 152), Ryan Dolezal (38-3 at 160) and Camren Dennee (43-3 at 170) followed with regional championships for the Tigers.

Cody Weix (34-10) finished second at 182; Jace Kelnhofer (18-23 at 113), Grayden Rode (17-22 at 126) and Adrian Krueger (27-16 at 285) all took third, and James Clements (19-20 at 220) placed fourth to also move on to sectionals for Marshfield.

Stevens Point had one champion as Jaren Rohde continued his undefeated season with a 12-2 major decision over Owen Kurtz of Rhinelander in the 285-pound final.

Three SPASH wrestlers lost to Marshfield opponents in the finals as Kale Roth (30-8 at 145), T.J. Schierl (26-5 at 152) and Conner Seavers (32-5 at 170) all finished second. Also moving on to sectionals for the Panthers were Riley Seavers (19-17), who placed third at 132 pounds, and Charlie Heikkinen (11-13 at 138) and Logan Seavers (24-16 at 126), who both took fourth place.

The top two finishers in each weight class at the sectional will qualify for the WIAA State Individual Wrestling Tournament at the Kohl Center in Madison on Feb. 24-26.

WIAA Division 1 wrestling regional

Feb. 12, at Marshfiel