top of page


Marshfield senior Maddie Michaelis was a unanimous first-team selection to the 2020-21 All-Wisconsin Valley Conference Girls Basketball Team. (Photo by Paul Lecker/For Zaleski Sports)

By Paul Lecker

For Zaleski Sports

Marshfield senior Maddie Michaelis was one of four unanimous first-team selections to the 2020-21 All-Wisconsin Valley Conference Girls Basketball Team, as voted on by the seven conference coaches following the season.

Michaelis joins Wausau West senior Kiley Deaton, Merrill senior Courtney Krueger, and Wisconsin Rapids junior Megan Clary as unanimous first-team picks. Wisconsin Rapids senior Vanessa Vechinski rounded out the first team.

Deaton and Krueger were repeat first-team selections.

Michaelis finished seventh in the WVC in scoring at 13.7 points per game, was fourth in 3-point shooting percentage (35.6 percent) and tied for second in 3-pointers made with 26.

Deaton was named Player of the Year after averaging a conference-high 23.4 points per game. She also finished second in rebounding at 8.7 per game and fourth in field goal percentage at 48.1 percent for the Warriors, who won the conference title with an 11-0 record.

Krueger averaged 17.8 points and 6.3 rebounds per game, Clary was second in the conference in scoring at 21.1 points per game, and Vechinski averaged 15.1 poitns and 7.3 rebounds per contest, while leading the conference in field goal percentage at 58.2 percent.

Marshfield senior Quincy Lang and sophomore Danielle Minsaas were among the honorable mention choices.

Lang averaged 6.7 points and 3.8 rebounds per game, while Minsaas was second on the Tigers in scoring at 12.3 points per contest as the Tigers finished 3-9 in the conference.

2020-21 All-Wisconsin Valley Conference Girls Basketball Team

*Denotes unanimous selection

First team: *Kiley Deaton, sr., Wausau West; *Courtney Krueger, sr., Merrill; *Megan Clary, jr., Wisconsin Rapids; *Maddie Michaelis, sr., Marshfield; Vanessa Vechinski, sr., Wisconsin Rapids.

Second team: Lexie White, so., Wausau West; Zoe Fink, jr., Stevens Point; Kiara Hammond, jr., D.C. Everest; Emma Jossie, so., Stevens Point; Grace Michalske, sr., Wausau West.

Honorable mention: Danni Langseth, sr., D.C. Everest; Hanna Stuedemann, sr., D.C. Everest; Quincy Lang, sr., Marshfield; Danielle Minsaas, so., Marshfield; Crystal Dearth, sr., Merrill; Claire Drew, sr., Merrill; Tahlia Moe, so., Stevens Point; Lauren Strasman, so., Stevens Point; Kit Kronberger, sr., Wausau East; Abby Thompson, sr., Wausau East; Kenzie Deaton, so., Wausau West; Chelsea King, jr., Wisconsin Rapids; Alli Martin, sr., Wisconsin Rapids.

Player of the Year: Kiley Deaton, Wausau West.

Coach of the Year: Tom Weinkauf, Wausau West.

152 views0 comments