top of page


Edgar senior Makenna Guden was named Marawood Conference South Division Girls Basketball Player of the Year. (Submitted photo)

By Paul Lecker

For Zaleski Sports

Auburndale had a pair of unanimous first-team selections and Stratford had one as well on the 2020-21 All-Marawood Conference South Division Girls Basketball Team, as voted on by the six conference coaches following the season.

Edgar senior Makenna Guden, who finishes her career as the school’s all-time leading scorer, was named Player of the Year and was one of four unanimous first-team picks, joining Auburndale senior Kaitlyn Kundinger and sophomore Annamarie Aue, and Stratford senior Emily Hughes.

Auburndale senior Kaitlyn Kundinger was one of four unanimous first-team picks to the 2020-21 All-Marawood Conference South Division Girls Basketball Team. (Photo courtesy of Lucky Shot Photography)

Wisconsin Rapids Assumption junior Ainara Sainz de Rozas rounded out the first team.

Guden averaged a league-best 19.7 points per game this season, scoring in double figures in all 23 of Edgar’s games while making 50 3-pointers and shooting 76 percent from the free-throw line.

Aue averaged a team-high 13.4 points per game and Kundinger averaged 13.1 points and 8.1 rebounds per game this year for Auburndale, which tied Stratford and Assumption for the Marawood South championship.

Hughes averaged 13 points and 8.6 rebounds per game for Stratford, while Sainz de Rozas averaged 13.5 points per game for Assumption, which went on to win the WIAA Division 5 state title.

2020-21 All-Marawood Conference South Division Girls Basketball Team

*denotes unanimous selection

First team: *Kaitlyn Kundinger, sr., Auburndale; *Annamarie Aue, so., Auburndale; *Makenna Guden, sr., Edgar; *Emily Hughes, sr., Stratford; Ainara Sainz de Rozas, jr., Wisconsin Rapids Assumption.

Second team: Jessie Grundhoffer, sr., Wisconsin Rapids Assumption; Emily Bohn, sr., Wisconsin Rapids Assumption; Reagan Borchardt, so., Edgar; Allison Wokatsch, jr., Marathon; Tanaya Schillinger, sr., Stratford.

Honorable mention: Sam Nelson sr., Wisconsin Rapids Assumption; Cristin Casey, sr., Wisconsin Rapids Assumption; Hailey Grimm, sr., Auburndale; Georgi Schmutzer, sr., Auburndale; Mikayla Wirkus, fr., Edgar; Malia Hoesly, jr., Edgar; Anna Cleven, sr., Marathon; Hope Krautkramer, sr., Marathon; Maggie Wulf, so., Wausau Newman Catholic; Angela Donath, sr., Wausau Newman Catholic; Makenna Leonhardt, sr., Stratford; Gracie Hauke, sr., Stratford.

Player of the Year: Makenna Guden, Edgar.

Coaches of the Year: Dale Aue, Auburndale; Ryan Klein, Wisconsin Rapids Assumption; and Tammie Christopherson, Stratford.

363 views0 comments