top of page


Updated: Jun 15, 2022

Assumption Royal's pitcher Ava Schill was named Marawood South Player of the Year for the second straight year! Photo Courtesy: Robyn Austin

Zaleski Sports

Conference champion and WIAA Division 5 state champion Wisconsin Rapids Assumption had all nine of its starters honored on the 2022 All-Marawood Conference South Division Softball Team.

Four Assumption players were named to the first team in juniors Ava Schill and Cristin Casey, and freshmen Claire Nelson and Anna Schooley, with sophomores Lydia Smith and Madi Abbott, and freshman Macy Vollert picked to the second team, and juniors Sadie Galbreath and Maleia Kolo earning honorable mention status.

Auburndale juniors Ashlyn Grimm and Erin Griesbach, Stratford junior Tessa Berg, Edgar sophomores Makayla Wirkus and Morgan Streveler, and Wausau Newman Catholic sophomore Ashley Jankowski rounded out the 10 first-team selections.

All 10 first-team picks are underclassmen, as were nine of the named to the second team.

Schill, Assumption’s main pitcher, was named Marawood South Player of the Year. The Royals’ co-coaches, Charlie Nelson and Rob Schill, were picked as Coach of the Year.

Schill finished the season with a 15-0 record and two saves, striking out 147 with a 1.36 ERA. She also hit .466 with nine doubles, two triples, three home runs and 26 RBI for the Royals.

Casey led Assumption in hitting with a .592 average with 15 RBI and 35 runs scores, Nelson batted .443 with eight doubles and 25 RBI, and Schooley hit an even .500 with seven home runs, 28 RBI and 36 runs scored.

Grimm was Auburndale’s main pitcher, going 10-8 with a 4.31 ERA and 121 strikeouts in 115 1/3 innings pitched. She also hit .323 with a team-high 23 RBI.

Griesbach batted .500 with 23 runs scored and 14 for Auburndale, which in third place in the conference with a 4-6 record.

Berg batted .327 for Stratford, which finished the season 9-12 overall and 2-8 in the Marawood South.

Wirkus was 15-4 with two saves as Edgar’s top pitcher, as she struck out 201 batters and walked just 29 in 121 1/3 innings pitched. She also batted .519 with 15 RBI, nine doubles and two home runs.

Streveler hit .385 with 11 RBI for Edgar.

2022 All-Marawood Conference South Division Softball Team

(*denotes unanimous selection)

First team: *Ava Schill, jr., Wisconsin Rapids Assumption; *Cristin Casey, jr., Wisconsin Rapids Assumption; *Claire Nelson, fr., Wisconsin Rapids Assumption; *Anna Schooley, fr., Wisconsin Rapids; *Ashlyn Grimm, jr., Auburndale; *Erin Griebach, jr., Auburndale; *Makayla Wirkus, so., Edgar; *Morgan Streveler, so., Edgar; Ashley Jankowski, Wausau Newman Catholic; *Tessa Berg, jr., Stratford.

Second team: Lydia Smits, so., Wisconsin Rapids Assumption; Madi Abbott, so., Wisconsin Rapids Assumption; Macy Vollert, fr., Wisconsin Rapids Assumption; Kimmie Lundgren, jr., Auburndale; Mya Krings, fr., Auburndale; Leah Davis, jr., Edgar; Bridget Salber, so., Marathon; Jada Prihoda, sr., Marathon; Lily Shields, Wausau Newman Catholic; Laney Pankratz, fr., Stratford.

Honorable mention: Sadie Galbreath, jr., Wisconsin Rapids Assumption; Maleia Kolo, jr., Wisconsin Rapids Assumption; Samantha Stanton, so., Auburndale; Regynn Lau, so., Auburndale; Reagan Borchardt, jr., Edgar; Ashley Erickson, jr., Edgar; Ella Mader, sr., Marathon; Kayla Radtke, sr., Marathon; Lily Zeimetz, sr., Wausau Newman Catholic; Paige Guld, so., Wausau Newman Catholic; Ally Zuleger, sr., Stratford; Emma Roeper, fr., Stratford.

Player of the Year: Ava Schill, Wisconsin Rapids Assumption.

Coaches of the Year: Charlie Nelson & Rob Schill, Wisconsin Rapids Assumption.

179 views0 comments