Neillsville senior Alex King was named Cloverbelt Conference East Division Boys Basketball Co-Player of the Year. (Photo by Paul Lecker/For Zaleski Sports)

By Paul Lecker For Zaleski Sports

Neillsville senior Alex King and Loyal senior Kole Bogdonvich were named Co-Players of the Year and were among the six players selected to the first team of the 2019-20 All-Cloverbelt Conference East Division Boys Basketball Team, which was voted on by the nine conference coaches following the regular season.

King averaged 19.2 points and 7.6 rebounds per game this season for Neillsville, which was co-champions of the Cloverbelt East along with Spencer.

Kole Bogdonovich

Bogdonovich averaged 22.1 points per game and made 61 3-pointers this season for Loyal.

Also named to the first team were Spencer seniors Brett Kasch and Austin Bacon, Neillsville junior Braden Trunkel, and Gilman junior Andrew Hecker.

Bacon and Kasch both averaged 17.7 points per game, while Trunkel averaged 15 points per game and made 78 3-pointers overall this season.

Hecker led the conference in scoring at 23.2 points and rebounding at 11.4 boards per game for Gilman.

Marshfield Columbus Catholic had a pair named to the second team. Senior Tom Nystrom, who made a conference-best 83 points and averaged 14.1 points per game, and junior forward Eden Jacobson, who was second in the conference in rebounding at 10.1 per game and also averaged 12.7 points per game, were second-team selections for the Dons.

Spencer senior guard Hayden Bauman, Greenwood juniors Westen Schmitz and Cooper Bredlau, and Loyal senior Trevyn Wilke were also named to the second team.

2019-20 All-Cloverbelt Conference East Division Boys Basketball Team First team: Andrew Hecker, jr., Gilman; Kole Bogdonovich, sr., Loyal; Alex King, sr., Neillsville; Braden Trunkel, jr., Neillsville; Brett Kasch, sr., Spencer; Austin Bacon, sr., Spencer. Second team: Tom Nystrom, sr., Marshfield Columbus Catholic; Eden Jacobson, jr., Marshfield Columbus Catholic; Westen Schmitz, jr., Greenwood; Cooper Bredlau, jr., Greenwood; Trevyn Wilke, sr., Loyal; Hayden Bauman, sr., Spencer. Honorable mention: Jadon Nienast, jr., Marshfield Columbus Catholic; Treyton Thomas, sr., Greenwood; Josiah Katcher, sr., Neillsville; Monte Diestler, sr., Neillsville; Tyler Weaver, so., Owen-Withee; Eric Ehlert, sr., Spencer. Co-Players of the Year: Alex King, Neillsville, and Kole Bogdonovich, Loyal.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All