top of page


By Paul Lecker

For Zaleski Sports

The 2021 WIAA State Boys and Girls Hockey Tournament brackets were announced Sunday.

Play begins with regional semifinals on Tuesday, Feb. 2. Regional finals will be Feb. 4 or 5, with sectionals on Feb. 9 and Feb. 12 and 13.

The state tournament semifinals will be held at the higher seed’s home rink, with the state championship games slated for Saturday, Feb. 20, at the South Wood County Ice Arena in Wisconsin Rapids.

In the Division 1 boys tournament, a number of Central Wisconsin teams are in Sectional 1.

Eighth-seed D.C. Everest will host No. 9 Ashland Co-op, No. 11 Merrill/Wausau East will play at No. 6 Wausau West, and No. 10 Barron Co-op will be at No. 7 Wisconsin Rapids in regional semifinals on Feb. 2.

Stevens Point is the No. 3 seed and earned a first-round bye. The Panthers will host the Wausau West-Merrill/Wausau East winner on Feb. 4 in the regional final.

In Division 2, Medford/Rib Lake is a No. 6 seed in Sectional 1 and will play at New Richmond in a regional final Feb. 4.

In Sectional 2, No. 2 Mosinee will host No. 7 Antigo, and No. 3 Lakeland will host No. 6 Marshfield in regional finals Feb. 4.

In the girls tournament, the Central Wisconsin Storm are the No. 2 seed in Sectional 2 and earned a bye into the sectional semifinal where it will host the winner of No. 3 Northland Pines Co-op and No. 6 Medford/Rib Lake at D.C. Everest on Feb. 9.

The Wisconsin Valley Union (Marshfield/Waupaca/Wisconsin Rapids/Stevens Point co-op) is a No. 2 seed in Sectional 3 and will host a sectional semifinal in Marshfield on Feb. 9 against the winner of No. 3 Onalaska Co-op and No. 6 Baraboo/Mauston/Portage/Reedsburg/Royall/Sauk Prairie/Wisconsin Dells.

2021 WIAA State Boys Hockey Tournament

Division 1

Sectional 1

Regional semifinals, Feb. 2

No. 9 Ashland Co-op at No. 8 D.C. Everest

No. 11 Merrill/Wausau East at No. 6 Wausau West

No. 10 Barron Co-op at No. 7 Wisconsin Rapids

Regional finals, Feb. 4

Ashland-D.C. Everest winner at No. 1 Hudson

No. 5 Eau Claire Memorial at No. 4 Eau Claire North

Wausau West-Merrill/Wausau East winner at No. 3 Stevens Point

Wisconsin Rapids-Barron winner at No. 2 Chippewa Falls

Sectional 2

Regional semifinals, Feb. 2

No. 9 Appleton North/East/West at No. 8 Beaver Dam/Dodgeland/Horicon/Hustisford/Wayland Academy (at Beaver Dam)

No. 11 Appleton Xavier Co-op at No. 6 West Bend West Co-op (at Kettle Moraine)

No. 10 Oshkosh North/Berlin/Green Lake/Laconia/Lourdes/Oshkosh West/Winneconne at No. 7 Fond du Lac Co-op

Regional finals, Feb. 4

Appleton-Beaver Dam winner at No. 1 Green Bay Notre Dame

No. 5 Ashwaubenon Co-op at No. 4 De Pere/West De Pere

West Bend-Xavier winner at No. 3 Bay Port

Fond du Lac-Oshkosh winner at No. 2 Neenah/Hortonville/Menasha/Shiocton

Sectional 3

Regional semifinals, Feb. 2

No. 9 Sun Prairie at No. 8 Baraboo/Portage

No. 11 Middleton at No. 6 Reedsburg/Mauston/Wisconsin Dells

No. 10 La Crosse Aquinas Co-op at No. 7 Tomah/Sparta

Regional finals, Feb. 4

Sun Prairie-Baraboo/Portage winner at No. 1 Madison Edgewood

No. 5 Waunakee at No. 4 Onalaska Co-op

Reedsburg/Mauston/Wisconsin Dells-Middleton winner at No. 3 Sauk Prairie/Mount Horeb/River Valley/Wisconsin Heights

Tomah/Sparta-Aquinas Co-op winner at No. 2 Verona

Sectional 4

Regional semifinals, Feb. 2

No. 9 New Berlin Eisenhower Co-op at No. 8 Janesville Craig/Parker

No. 10 Milton Co-op at No. 7 Whitefish Bay Co-op

Regional finals, Feb. 4

Janesville Craig/Parker-New Berlin Eisenhower winner at No. 1 University School of Milwaukee

No. 5 Brookfield East Co-op at N. 4 Waukesha North/South/West/Catholic Memorial/Pewaukee

Whitefish Bay Co-op-Milton Co-op winner at No. 2 Kettle Moraine/Mukwonago/Oconomowoc

Regional final, Feb. 5

No. 6 Milwaukee Marquette at No. 3 Hartland Arrowhead

Division 2

Sectional 1

Regional finals, Feb. 4

No. 8 Chequamegon Co-op at No. 1 Rice Lake

No. 5 Amery/Clayton/Clear Lake at No. 4 Hayward

No. 6 Medford/Rib Lake at No. 3 New Richmond

No. 7 Frederic Co-op at No. 2 Superior

Sectional 2

Regional finals, Feb. 4

No. 8 Tomahawk at No. 1 Northland Pines

No. 5 Waupaca at No. 4 Rhinelander/Three Lakes

No. 6 Marshfield at No. 3 Lakeland

No. 7 Antigo at No. 2 Mosinee

Sectional 3

Regional finals, Feb. 4

No. 8 Viroqua/Cashton/Westby/Youth Initiative at No. 1 Baldwin-Woodville/Saint Croix Central

No. 5 Altoona Co-op at No. 4 West Salem/Bangor

No. 6 Black River Falls Co-op at No. 3 Menomonie

No. 7 River Falls at No. 2 Somerset Co-op

Sectional 4

Regional finals, Feb. 4

No. 5 Waupun at No. 4 Cedarburg

No. 6 McFarland at No. 3 Mequon Homestead

No. 7 Stoughton at No. 2 Oregon

Sectional semifinals, Feb. 9

Waupun-Cedarburg winner at No. 1 Fond du Lac St. Mary’s Springs


2021 WIAA State Girls Hockey Tournament

Sectional 1

Regional finals, Feb. 4

No. 5 Hayward Co-op at No. 4 Chippewa Falls/McDonell/Menomonie

No. 6 Superior/Northwestern at No. 3 Hudson

Sectional semifinals, Feb. 9

Chippewa Falls/McDonell/Menomonie-Hayward winner at No. 1 Somerset Co-op