top of page


Marshfield junior Gabe Pugh won the 138-pound title at the 2020 Wisconsin Valley Conference Wrestling Tournament on Saturday at Wisconsin Rapids. The conference title is the second of Pugh’s career. (Photo courtesy of Marshfield wrestling)

Zaleski Sports

WISCONSIN RAPIDS – Marshfield won three individual titles and finished fifth at the 2020 Wisconsin Valley Conference Wrestling Tournament on Saturday at Lincoln High School.

Wisconsin Rapids won the team title with 206.5 points, 12.5 more than second-place D.C. Everest. The title is Wisconsin Rapids’ eighth in the last 12 years and its second in a row. Stevens Point was third with 169.5 points and Marshfield fifth with 144.5.

Junior Gabe Pugh won his second career WVC title with a 14-3 major decision over Demitrio Covarrubias of D.C. Everest in the 138-pound championship match. Pugh also won the 113-pound title as a freshman.

Sophomore Ryan Dolezal, who finished second at the conference meet a year ago, won the 145-pound title for Marshfield, beating Payton Vaughn of D.C. Everest, 10-6.

Marshfield’s other conference title came from freshman Hoyt Blaskowski, won earned a pin in just 20 seconds to win the 126-pound championship.

Wisconsin Rapids had four individual champions – Preston Spray (106), Wyler Lubeck (152), Peter Rucker (182), and Andrew Schutz (195).

Stevens Point’s Justin Groshek (113) and Kyle Roth (120), Wausau West’s Gabriel Ramos (132) and Noah Baumann (160), D.C. Everest’s Gabe Carter (170) and Orion Boe (220), and Merrill’s Zach Iriabarren (285) also won conference titles.

Groshek is a four-time conference champion, while Irabareen and Lubeck are repeat conference tournament winners.

All seven Wisconsin Valley Conference teams, along with Rhinelander, will compete at the WIAA Division 1 regional on Feb. 15 at D.C. Everest.

2020 Wisconsin Valley Conference Wrestling Tournament Team scores: 1. Wisconsin Rapids 206.5; 2. D.C. Everest 194; 3. Stevens Point 169.5; 4. Wausau West 165.5; 5. Marshfield 144.5; 6. Merrill 110; 7. Wausau East 64. Overall final team standings (includes dual meet season): 1. Wisconsin Rapids 24; 2. D.C. Everest 18; 3. Stevens Point 16; 4. Wausau West 14; 5. Marshfield 8; 6. Merrill 4; 7. Wausau East 1. 106 pounds Championship: Preston Spray (WR) pinned Gabe Galang (WW), 5:13. Third place: Alex Westlund (MAR) pinned Zach Kolodzieg (SP), 1:25. Fifth place: Ryan Jaeger (WE). 113 pounds Championship: Justin Groshek (SP) pinned Meka Remien (DC), 2:38. Third place: Aceyn Meyer (WR) pinned Hope Trevina (WW), 3:28. Fifth place: Trevor Schenzel (MER) pinned Ze Yang (WE), 0:47. 120 pounds Championship: Kale Roth (SP) pinned Josh Black (WR), 0:44. Third place: Tanner Depies (MER) def. Easton Block (DC), 7-1. Fifth place: Derek Danielson (WW) pinned Daemon Kitzow (WE), 1:21. 126 pounds Championship: Hoyt Blaskowski (MAR) pinned Maddox Rye (WE), 0:20. Third place: Lukas Erickson (WR) def. Warren Soik (SP), 6-3. Fifth place: Cameron Saari (DC) def. Tristan Brewington (MER), 6-4. 132 pounds Championship: Gabriel Ramos (WW) def. Blake Heal (DC), 4-1. Third place: T.J. Schierl (SP) pinned Ryan Sering (WR), 1:32. Fifth place: Riley Wilcott (MAR). 138 pounds Championship: Gabe Pugh (MAR) won major dec. over Demitrio Covarrubias (DC), 14-3. Third place: Max Schierl (SP) def. Cole Ladick (WR), 3-0. Fifth place: Carter Napiowocki (WW). 145 pounds Championship: Ryan Dolezal (MAR) def. Payton Vaughn (DC), 10-6. Third place: Joe Berens (WW) def. Damien Bennett (WR), 5-3 (OT). Fifth place: Cooper Behnke (SP) pinned Christian Emerson (WE), 2:55. 152 pounds Championship: Wyler Lubeck (WR) def. Freddy Lehrke (DC), 3-2. Third place: Garrett Willuweit (MAR) def. Conner Seavers (SP), 8-2. Fifth place: Kaden Body (WW) pinned Christian Nelson (MER), 1:54. 160 pounds Championship: Noah Baumann (WW) pinned Sam Molski (SP), 2:51. Third place: Camren Dennee (MAR) def. Ryder Depies (MER), 15-11. Fifth place: Dalton Gribowski (DC) pinned Dakotah Braatz (WR), 1:54. 170 pounds Championship: Gabe Carter (DC) won major dec. over Casey Hoffman (MER), 10-1. Third place: Leo Brostowitz (WR) def. Ahtan Somers (WW), 15-9. Fifth place: Jayden Wilhelm (MAR) pinned Josh Kolodziej (SP), 1:57. 182 pounds Championship: Peter Rucker (WR) pinned Brett Johnston (SP), 5:05. Third place: Nathan LaRue (WW) won major dec. over Wyatt Bathke (MER), 9-0. Fifth place: Nick Klug (DC) pinned Alex Simon (MAR), 2:44. 195 pounds Championship: Andrew Schutz (WR) pinned Walker Bathke (MER), 3:45. Third place: Mitch Danielski (DC) pinned Joe Nienow (WW), 2:53. Fifth place: Simon Slade (MAR). 220 pounds Championship: Orion Boe (DC) pinned Ben Raczek (SP), 0:18. Third place: Josh Hansen (WR) pinned Daveon Gillespie (WW), 5:25. Fifth place: Caden Weis (WE) def. Adrian Kruger (MAR) by injury default. 285 pounds Championship: Zach Iribarren (MER) def. Jack Johnson (DC), 5-4. Third place: Reece Ament (WE) pinned Sam Scheidegger (WR), 2:32. Fifth place: Logan Burish (WW).

15 views0 comments