top of page


Updated: Mar 11, 2021

By Paul Lecker

For Zaleski Sports

Wisconsin Rapids senior Dylan Lisitza was named Player of the Year and was one of three unanimous first-team selections to the 2020-21 All-Wisconsin Valley Conference Boys Basketball Team, as voted on by the seven conference coaches following the season.

Lisitza, D.C. Everest junior Colton Hall and Stevens Point junior James Jacobs were unanimous picks to the first team, that also included Merrill senior Nathan Woller and Wausau West junior Amillion Buggs.

Lisitza led the conference in scoring at 19.5 points per game, tying for third with 23 3-pointers. He was also third in assists with 47 and sixth in rebounding with 65.

Hall averaged 17.7 points and 6.2 rebounds per game, Jacobs averaged 13.5 points per game and led the WVC in assists with 51 and field goal percentage at 65.2 percent, Woller averaged 14.6 points and 5.8 rebounds per game, and Buggs scored 16.1 point per game while finishing second in rebounding at 7.2 per contest.

Marshfield had three players earn honorable mention accolades – juniors Gavin Fravert and Chase Hinson, and senior Sam Roherty.

Hinson was second in the conference in 3-point shooting at 48.9 percent (22-for-45) while leading the Tigers in scoring at 9.9 points per game. Roherty averaged 8.8 points per game and was Marshfield’s top rebounder with 52, and Fravert averaged 8.4 points per contest for Marshfield.

2020-21 All-Wisconsin Valley Conference Boys Basketball Team

*denotes unanimous selection

First team: *Dylan Lisitza, sr., Wisconsin Rapids; *Colton Hall, jr., D.C. Everest; *James Jacobs, jr., Stevens Point; Nathan Woller, sr., Merrill; Amillion Buggs, jr., Wausau West.

Second team: Logan Ebersold, sr., D.C. Everest; Grant Flory, sr., Wisconsin Rapids; Nate Steveler, jr., Stevens Point; Max Helke, sr., Wausau West; Bryce Pelky, sr., Stevens Point.

Honorable mention: Marcus Hall, so., D.C. Everest; Beau Svoke, jr., D.C. Everest; Gavin Fravert, jr., Marshfield; Chase Hinson, jr., Marshfield; Sam Roherty, sr., Marshfield; Bailey Turenne, jr., Merrill; Jake Zelinski, sr., Merrill; Gavin Hyer, sr., Stevens Point; Gabe Napgezek, jr., Wausau East; Jack Ohrmundt, sr., Wausau East; Noah Stroming, jr., Wausau East; Tim DeLoye, sr., Wausau West.

Player of the Year: Dylan Lisitza, Wisconsin Rapids.

Coach of the Year: Jon Krull, Stevens Point.