top of page


Marshfield senior Kate Schilling was a unanimous first-team selection to the 2021 All-Wisconsin Valley Conference Girls Soccer Team. (Paul Lecker file photo)

By Paul Lecker

Zaleski Sports

Conference champion Wisconsin Rapids had four first-team picks on the 2021 All-Wisconsin Valley Conference Girls Soccer Team, as voted on by the seven conference coaches following the season.

Junior forward Ashley Abbott, sophomore forward Kate Schaeffer, senior defender Tyla Weidman, and junior midfielder Ella Bruns were named to the first team for Wisconsin Rapids, which won the conference championship with an 11-1 record. Bruns and Abbott were unanimous selections.

Abbott finished third in the conference in scoring with 37 points (17 goals, three assists), and Schaeffer was sixth with 25 points (11 goals, three assists).

D.C. Everest freshman Jenna Baumann was named Player of the Year. She had 31 goals in 12 games, with three assists, as the Evergreens finished second in the WVC with a 10-2 record.

Marshfield had two first-team selections and two honorable mention picks.

Senior forward Kate Schilling and freshman midfielder Abigail Ongna were first-team honorees for the Tigers, who finished 6-6 and in fourth place in the WVC this spring.

Schilling finished fourth in the conference with 14 goals and 30 total points (two assists) to lead Marshfield in scoring.

Ongna was a key member of the Tigers’ defense that allowed 2.4 goals per game in conference play.

Senior defender Alyson Dietsche and junior midfielder Sophia Gruenling were honorable mention choices for Marshfield.

Gruenling was second on the Tigers in scoring during conference play with six goals and three assists.

2021 All-Wisconsin Valley Conference Girls Soccer Team

(*denotes unanimous selection)

First Team

Goalkeeper: *Chelsea King, jr., Wisconsin Rapids.

Forwards: *Jenna Baumann, fr., D.C. Everest; *Kate Schilling, sr., Marshfield; *Abby Thompson, sr., Wausau East; *Ashley Abbott, jr., Wisconsin Rapids; Kate Schaeffer, so., Wisconsin Rapids.

Defenders: *Chloe Felch, sr., D.C. Everest; Brenna Raasch, sr., D.C. Everest; Tyla Weidman, sr., Wisconsin Rapids.

Midfielders: *Ella Bruns, jr., Wisconsin Rapids; Abigail Ongna, fr., Marshfield; Allison Raasch, so., Wausau West.

Second Team

Goalkeeper: Sonja Budleski, sr., D.C. Everest.

Forwards: Erika Schneider, sr., Wausau West; Lydia Ellis, sr., D.C. Everest; Jess Leow, sr., Wisconsin Rapids.

Defenders: Kelly Page, sr., Merrill; Mackenzie Bautch, so., Wausau West; Avery Pezewski, jr., Stevens Point; Jess Leow, sr., Wisconsin Rapids.

Midfielders: Alexis White, so., Wausau West; Madison Sazama, fr., D.C. Everest; Lily Messman, jr., Wausau East.

Honorable Mention

Goalkeepers: Ollie Liss-‘s-Gravemade, fr., Wausau East; Bergen Beversdorf, sr., Stevens Point.

Forwards: Jenna Check, jr., D.C. Everest; Lindsey Lucht, so., Wausau West; Aubrey Liegl, so., D.C. Everest; Kayla Malovrh, sr., Wausau West; Abby Schuerman, jr., Wisconsin Rapids.

Defenders: Kiki Liss-‘s-Gravemade, jr., Wausau East; Kylie Draeger, so., Wausau West; Jordan Stoecker, sr., Wausau West; Alyson DIetsche, sr., Marshfield; La Ni Lor, jr., Wausau East.

Midfielders: Sophia Gruenling, jr., Marshfield; Elizabeth Schneider, sr., Wausau West; McKenna Smith, jr., Merrill.

Player of the Year: Jenna Baumann, D.C. Everest.