top of page


Marshfield senior Sophia Gruenling was a unanimous first-team selection on the 2022 All-Wisconsin Valley Conference Girls Soccer Team. (Photo by Paul Lecker/Zaleski Sports)

Zaleski Sports

Marshfield senior Sophia Gruenling and sophomore Abby Ongna were among the first-team selections to the 2022 All-Wisconsin Valley Conference Girls Soccer Team, as voted on by the seven conference coaches following the season.

Wisconsin Rapids, which finished second in the conference standings with a 10-2 record, had four first-team picks, including unanimous choices Chelsea King at goalkeeper and Ella Bruns at midfielder, and forwards Dakota Mitchell and Kate Schaeffer.

Gruenling was a unanimous first-team pick as a sweeper, and Ongna was picked as a midfielder on the 12-player first team.

Gruenling was a key part of a Marshfield defense that allowed just 19 goals in conference play. Ongna had three goals and two assists for the Tigers.

Bruns led Wisconsin Rapids with 33 points (11 goals, 11 assists) to finish third in the conference. Schaeffer had 11 goals and two assists and Mitchell had two goals and two assists in WVC play.

King allowed just seven goals in 11 games with 41 saves.

D.C. Everest sophomore Jenna Baumann was named the WVC Player of the Year after leading the Evergreens to the conference title. She finished with 29 goals scored in Everest’s 12 conference games, nearly double that of the next highest goal scorer in the conference. Lexie White of Wausau West, also a first-team pick, had 15 goals.

Sophomore midfielder Hayden Berger was a second-team selection, and senior goalkeeper Ava Sainterme and sophomore midfielder Grace Taylor were honorable mention choices for Marshfield, which finished 6-6 and in fourth place in the Valley this spring.

Wisconsin Rapids senior forward Abby Schuerman was a second-team selection.

2022 All-Wisconsin Valley Conference Girls Soccer Team

(*denotes unanimous selection)

First team: *Chelsea King, sr., goalkeeper, Wisconsin Rapids; *Jenna Baumann, so., forward, D.C. Everest; Zongshia Lo, so., midfielder, D.C. Everest; *Madison Sazama, so., midfielder, D.C. Everest; Aubrey Liegl, jr., defender, D.C. Everest; *Sophia Gruenling, sr., sweeper, Marshfield; Abby Ongna, so., midfielder, Marshfield; *Lexie White, jr., midfielder/forward, Wausau West; Kylie Draeger, jr., defender, Wausau West; *Ella Bruns, sr., midfielder, Wisconsin Rapids; Dakota Mitchell, sr., forward, Wisconsin Rapids; Kate Schaeffer, jr., forward, Wisconsin Rapids.

Second team: Makenna Kampmann, so., goalkeeper, D.C. Everest; Grace Sandquist, fr., midfielder, D.C. Everest; Jenna Check, sr., midfielder, D.C. Everest; Hayden Berger, so., midfielder, Marshfield; McKenna Smith, sr., defender, Merrill; Madelyn Wunsch, jr., midfielder/defender, Wausau East; Abigail Names, jr., defender, Wausau West; Allison Raasch, jr., midfielder/forward, Wausau West; Abby Schuerman, sr., forward, Wisconsin Rapids.

Honorable mention: Ava Sainterme, sr., goalkeeper, Marshfield; Anna Bowe, so., goalkeeper, Merrill; Ollie Liss-s’-Gravemade, so., goalkeeper, Wausau East; Ava Hopper, fr., forward, D.C. Everest; Ruby Kowal, so., forward, D.C. Everest; Katie Schulz, jr., defender, D.C. Everest; Grace Taylor, so., midfielder, Marshfield; Reggie Lahti, so., defender, Merrill; Kylie Groshek, jr., midfielder/defender, Stevens Point; Keely Rosenfield, jr., defender, Stevens Point; Evan Schmelzer, sr., defender, Wausau East; Lily Messman, sr., midfielder, Wausau East; Sophia Bell, so., midfielder/forward, Wausau West; Sydney Hayes, so., midfielder, Wisconsin Rapids; Dylan Gruszynski, sr., defender, Wisconsin Rapids; Grace Mitchell, sr., midfielder, Wisconsin Rapids.

Player of the Year: Jenna Baumann, D.C. Everest.

197 views0 comments