top of page


Wild Rose junior Laney Havlovitz was named the Central Wisconsin Conference South Division Girls Basketball Player of the Year after averaging more than 23 points per game. (Submitted photo)

By Paul Lecker

Zaleski Sports

Wild Rose junior guard Laney Havlovitz was named Player of the Year and was among the five first-team selections to the 2021-22 All-Central Wisconsin Conference South Division Girls Basketball Team.

Havlovitz led the conference in scoring at 23.4 points per game while making 53 3-pointers for Wild Rose, which won the CWC South championship. She also led the team in rebounding (7.5 per game), assists (5.0) and steals (7.0).

Joining Havlovitz on the first team were teammate Orria Wood, Almond-Bancroft sophomore Lexie Dernbach, Port Edwards senior Taylor Martin, and Stevens Point Pacelli junior Amelia Jacoby.

Wood averaged 13.5 points per game with 36 3-pointers for the Wildcats.

Dernbach averaged 9.5 points, 7.2 rebounds and 2.6 steals per game for Almond-Bancroft.

Martin led Port Edwards in scoring at 14.1 points per game as she finished her career as a 1,000-point scorer. She also averaged 7.5 rebounds and 4.6 steals per game for the Blackhawks.

Jacoby led Pacelli in scoring at 11.6 points and rebounding at 6.3 boards per contest as the Cardinals finished second in the conference standings.

Wild Rose’s Brett Brooks was named Coach of the Year.

2021-22 All-Central Wisconsin Conference South Division Girls Basketball Team

First team: Taylor Martin, sr., Port Edwards; Laney Havlovitz, jr., Wild Rose; Orria Wood, sr., Wild Rose; Lexie Dernbach, so., Almond-Bancroft; Amelia Jacoby, jr., Stevens Point Pacelli.

Second team: Reece Grimm, fr., Pittsville; Sarah Trzinski, so., Rosholt; Cali Havlovitz, fr., Wild Rose; Carlee Lamb, sr., Almond-Bancroft; Casey Vaughan, so., Stevens Point Pacelli.

Honorable mention: Haylee Zawislan, jr., Pittsville; Kristin Zdun, sr., Pittsville; Skye Hopkins, so., Tri-County; Braelyn Pionke, jr., Tri-County; Clare Williams, so., Wild Rose; Jillian Newby, jr., Almond-Bancroft; Kaylin Yenter, fr., Stevens Point Pacelli.

Player of the Year: Laney Havlovitz, Wild Rose.

Coach of the Year: Brett Brooks, Wild Rose.

141 views0 comments