top of page


Zaleski Sports

WAUSAU – Marshfield seniors Morgan Meyer and Anna Weis earned individual spots at next week’s sectional meet after solid finishes at the WIAA Division 1 girls golf regional on Wednesday at Greenwood Hills Country Club.

Hortonville won the team title with a 363, led by meet co-medalist Kate Downie, who tied Jasmine Yang of Wausau East/West with 82s. Green Bay Notre Dame was second with a 356, Wausau East/West took third with a 390 and Wisconsin Rapids took fourth with a 423 to earn the four team spots at the Division 1 sectional on Oct. 6 at Thornberry Creek Golf Course in Green Bay.

The top four individuals not on the four qualifying teams also move on to the sectional.

Meyer earned the first spot, finishing 12th with a 102. Shawano’s Taylor Johnson tied for 13th with a 103, and Weis and D.C. Everest’s Ashtyn Fernstaedt tied for 17th with scores of 106 to earn the other three individual spots.

Dylan Gruszynski led Wisocnsin Rapids with a 93, finishing eighth, and Faith Cour tied for 13th with a 103.

Tess Bruner added a top-10 finish for Wausau East/West, shooting a 97 to take ninth.

Marshfield, D.C. Everest, Wausau East/West and Wisconsin Rapids will return to Greenwood Hills on Thursday for the fifth leg of the Wisconsin Valley Conference Girls Golf Tournament.

2020 WIAA Division 1 Girls Golf Regional Sept. 30, at Greenwood Hills Country Club, Wausau (*denotes sectional qualifier; sectional Oct. 6 at Thornberry Creek, Green Bay) Team scores: *1. Hortonville 363; *2. Green Bay Notre Dame 365; *3. Wausau East/West 390; *4. Wisconsin Rapids 323; 5. Shawano 428; 6. West De Pere 448; 7. D.C. Everest 453; 8. Marshfield 455. Individual scores (top four golfers not on qualifying teams move on to sectional): 1. Kate Downie (HOR) and Jasmine Yang (WAU) 82; 3. Alix Kundinger (HOR) 86; 4. Grace Durkin (GBND) 88; 5. Emma Wolf (GBND) 89; 6. Emily Schmidt (HOR) and Emily Noble (GBND) 90; 8. Dylan Gruszynski (WR) 93; 9. Tess Bruner (WAU) 97; 10. Lily Balison (GBND) 98; 11. Jess Nardi (WAU) 99; 12. *Morgan Meyer (MAR) 102; 13. Faith Cour (WR) and *Taylor Johnson (SH) 103; 15. Belle Mae Williams (GBND) 104; 16. Savannah Teale (HOR) 105; 17. *Anna Weis (MAR) and *Ashtyn Fernstaedt (DC) 106; 19. Teghan Kristoff (SH), Reagan Sturn (HOR), and Emily Heling (SH) 107; 22. Brie Rosmiarek (WDP) 109; 23. Riley Dreier (SH) 111; 24. Grace Woodward (DC), Lydia Kohlbeck (WDP), Ally Reis (WDP) and Ayla Trollop (WAU) 112; 28. Claire Ninneman (WR) 113; 29. Logan Vollert (WR) 114; 30. Morgan Degroot (WDP) 115; 31. Aramie Theiss (DC) 117; 32. Carli Green (WDP) and Hannah Mullins (DC) 119; 34. Raina Manlick (MAR) 123; 35. Sophie Lee (MAR) 124; 36. Bryssa Lenz (MAR) 125; 37. Ella Lambrecht (WAU) 127; 38. Hannah Seehafer (SH) 128; 39. Kaitlyn Hafermann (WR) 129; 40. Omolola Onitilo (DC) 139.

3 views0 comments