top of page


The Stratford wrestling team had nine individual champions and won its seventh-straight Marawood Conference team title on Saturday at Chequamegon High School. (Submitted photo)

Zaleski Sports

PARK FALLS – Stratford had nine individual champions and three runner-ups as it won its seventh-straight Marawood Conference Wrestling Tournament title on Saturday at Chequamegon High School.

Stratford, which went undefeated in conference dual meets this season, finished with 293 points, well ahead of second-place Phillips (167).

Auburndale had one champion, Noah Altmann (27-7) at 120 pounds, and finished fifth in the team standings with 99 points.

Senior Max Schwabe won his fourth conference title with a hard-fought 3-2 win over Dylan Baird (26-9) of Auburndale at 138 pounds. Schwabe (37-2) was named the Most Valuable Wrestler for the conference.

Other conference champions for Stratford were Logan Gaulke at 113 pounds, Gavin Drexler (38-0) at 126, Elijah Lucio at 132, Jake Heiden at 152, Devin Dennee (39-2) at 160, Hunter Ford (36-5) at 170, Trevor Dennee (38-1) at 182 and Beau Gross at 195.

“I couldn’t be more proud of these guys,” Stratford coach Joe Schwabe said. “They had a great day, and we even left a couple matches out there that we almost had. Still, we can enjoy this but need to go back to work to prepare for a very tough regionals in two weeks a Cadott.”

In addition to Wenzel, Konnor Stuttgen (145) and Easton Kilty (285) finished second for Stratford.

Sloan Welch (22-8), a freshman, finished second at 170, losing 6-4 to Ford in the championship match for Auburndale.

Brice Thiel finished third at 195 as well for Auburndale.

2020 Marawood Conference Wrestling Championships Feb. 1, at Chequamegon High School, Park Falls Team scores: 1. Stratford 293; 2. Phillips 167; 3. Chequamegon 160; 4. Athens 109; 5. Auburndale 99; 6. Marathon 82; 7. Edgar 62. Championship, Stratford and Auburndale results 106 pounds Championship: Mathias Hoogland (PH) pinned Brooks Kraus (ATH), 2:52. 113 pounds Championship: Logan Gaulke (ST) def. Aiden Miesbauer (CHQ), 11-4. 120 pounds Championship: Noah Altmann (AUB) pinned Benno Wenzel (ST), 3:27. 126 pounds Championship: Gavin Drexler (ST) pinned Jesse Bruhn (PH), 1:58. Third place: John Miller (CHQ) pinned Hunter Godard (AUB), 1:01. 132 pounds Championship: Elijah Lucio (ST) def. Jaden Schienebeck (CHQ), 7-5. 138 pounds Championship: Max Schwabe (ST) def. Dylan Baird (AUB), 3-2. 145 pounds Championship: Hunter Bruhn (PH) pinned Konner Stuttgen (ST), 2:26. Fifth place: William Graf (CHQ) pinned Brent Lau (AUB), 2:28. 152 pounds Championship: Jacob Heiden (ST) pinned Garret Deleasky (PH), 2:33. 160 pounds Championship: Devin Dennee (ST) pinned Spencer Kraus (ATH), 0:50. Third place: Michael Kirch (CHQ) pinned Cody Poeschel (AUB), 1:47. 170 pounds Championship: Hunter Ford (ST) def. Sloan Welch (AUB), 6-4. 182 pounds Championship: Trevor Dennee (ST) pinned Kees Hoogland (PH), 1:29. 195 pounds Championship: Beau Gross (ST) def. Max Brenner (CHQ), 1-0. Third place: Brice Thiel (AUB) def. Owen Roe (PH), 5-4. 220 pounds Championship: Ethan Heil (ED) pinned Logan Werner (MAR), 0:28. Third place: Patrick Greenberg (ST) pinned Peyton Zettler (ATH), 0:47. 285 pounds Championship: Parker Renken (CHQ) def. Easton Kilty (ST), 3-1.

4 views0 comments