top of page


Stratford wrestler Gavin Drexler has been voted the & Zaleski Sports February High School Athlete of the Month. (File photo)

Zaleski Sports

Stratford High School wrestler Gavin Drexler has been voted as the & Zaleski Sports February High School Athlete of the Month.

The High School Athlete of the Month Award main sponsor for the 2020-21 school year is Awards ‘n’ More of Wisconsin Rapids. The monthly award will continue through June 2021, and the winner of the & Zaleski Sports High School Athlete of the Year will be announced in July.

Varsity athletes from the following high schools are eligible to be nominated for the award: Abbotsford, Assumption, Athens, Auburndale, Colby, Columbus Catholic, Edgar, Granton, Greenwood, Loyal, Marathon, Marshfield, Mosinee, Neillsville, Owen-Withee, Pacelli, Pittsville, Spencer, Stevens Point, Stratford, Thorp and Wisconsin Rapids Lincoln.

Drexler earned a little more 45 percent of the approximately 2,500 votes cast during voting from March 2-8 at

Other nominees for the February award were: Marshfield gymnast Hanna Merkel, Wisconsin Rapids Assumption girls basketball player Ainara Sainz de Rozas, and Neillsville boys basketball player Braden Trunkel.

Drexler, a junior, finished off his second-straight undefeated season with another state title at the 2021 WIAA Division 3 State Individual Wrestling Tournament at Wausau West High School on Feb. 13. Drexler won the 138-pound title with a 15-6 major decision over Javis Pinter of Kenosha Christian Life to finish the season 21-0. He went 51-0 in 2020, claiming the D-3 126-pound title.

Drexler also won the February Athlete of the Month award in 2020.

Nominate someone now for the March award by emailing Paul Lecker at Please include relative statistics and reasons for that athlete’s nomination. Voting for the March award will take place at from April 1-7.

Drexler joins Marshfield Columbus Catholic soccer player Alex Edwards (September), Marshfield girls swimmer Faith Risa (October), Marshfield football player Wyatt LeMoine (November), Mosinee girls basketball player Alexis Frieboth (December) and Edgar girls basketball player Makenna Guden (January) as winners of the award during the 2020-21 school year.

171 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All