top of page


Photo's Courtesy: Jo Ann Wendels

By Paul Lecker Zaleski Sports

Conference champion Wisconsin Rapids Assumption had six players named to the 2021 All-Mid-Western Wisconsin Soccer Conference Team.

Juniors Clara Kubis and Izzy Jungwirth, and freshman Kendall Duellman were named to the first team, and seniors Kate Eithun and Maria Hartley, and junior Kayla Kerkman were second-team selections for Assumption, who won the conference title with a perfect 8-0 record.

Kubis was the Royals’ top scorer with 38 points (16 goals, six assists), Duellman had 15 goals and seven assists (37 points) and Kerkman had 11 goals and four assists (26 points) for the Royals, who reached the WIAA state tournament.

Eithun started every game in goal this season for Assumption, allowing just eight goals and finished with 67 saves.

Emily Madden, a senior from Altoona/Fall Creek, was named Player of the Year. She scored 19 goals and had three assists this season.

2021 Mid-Western Wisconsin Conference Girls Soccer Team

First team: Amber Adams, jr., Eau Claire Regis/Chippewa Falls McDonell; Anna Allen, so., Eau Claire Regis/Chippewa Falls McDonell; Amalia Briseno, jr., Melrose-Mindoro/Gale-Ettrick-Trempealeau; Kendall Duellman, fr., Wisconsin Rapids Assumption; Izzy Jungwirth, jr., Wisconsin Rapids Assumption; Clara Kubis, jr., Wisconsin Rapids Assumption; Emily Madden, sr., Altoona/Fall Creek; Keelyn Marlaire, sr., Altoona/Fall Creek; Evelyn Shaw, fr., Adams-Friendship; Alyssa Tap, jr., Amherst/Iola-Scandinavia; Hannah Wall, jr., Amherst/Iola-Scandinavia.

Second team: Bella Bautista, sr., Adams-Friendship; Yazmin, Cruz, so., Arcadia/Independence; Madeline Dobbs, Melrose-Mindoro/Gale-Ettrick-Trempealeau; Alayna Easterly, sr., Adams-Friendship; Elia Eggum, Wautoma/Wild Rose; Kate Eithun, sr., Wisconsin Rapids Assumption; Aneta Gbur, sr., Adams-Friendship; Brook Gunter, Melrose-Mindoro/Gale-Ettrick-Trempealeau; Maria Hartley, sr., Wisconsin Rapids Assumption; Yariza Jimena, fr., Arcadia/Independence; Kayla Kerkman, jr., Wisconsin Rapids Assumption; Haley Kropidlowski, sr., Amherst/Iola-Scandinavia; Saige Peterson, fr., Amherst/Iola-Scandinavia; Lexi Ridenour, so., Eau Claire Regis/Chippewa Falls McDonell.

Player of the Year: Emily Madden, Altoona/Fall Creek.

96 views0 comments