top of page


Neillsville senior Emma Moseley was named the Cloverbelt Conference East Division Girls Basketball Player of the Year, and was won of three Warriors to earn first-team all-conference honors. (Paul Lecker file photo)

By Paul Lecker

Zaleski Sports

Neillsville senior Emma Moseley was named Player of the Year and was one of six first-team selections to the 2021-22 All-Cloverbelt Conference East Division Girls Basketball Team, as voted on by the nine conference coaches following the season.

Moseley averaged 9.5 points. 5.1 rebounds, 4.1 assists and 2.6 steals per game for Neillsville, which rolled to a perfect Cloverbelt East championship season and reached the WIAA state tournament.

Moseley was joined on the first team by teammates Amelia Trunkel and Paris Opelt, Marshfield Columbus Catholic’s Jenna Kibbel, Gilman’s Tatum Weir, and Spencer’s Heavyn Kind. Only Kind is a senior.

Trunkel averaged 9.9 points per game with a team-high 48 3-pointers, and Opelt led Neillsville in scoring at 10.5 points per game and chipped in five rebounds a game.

Kind led the conference in scoring at 20.2 points per game with 53 3-pointers, and led Spencer in rebounding at 9.6 per game.

Kibbel led Columbus in scoring at 11 points per game, and Weir was Gilman’s leading scorer at 15.5 points per contest, and led the Cloverbelt East in rebounding at 11.9 per game.

2021-22 All-Cloverbelt Conference East Division Girls Basketball Team

First team: Jenna Kibbel, jr., Marshfield Columbus Catholic; Tatum Weir, jr., Gilman; Emma Moseley, sr., Neillsville; Paris Opelt, so., Neillsville; Amelia Trunkel, jr., Neillsville; Heavyn Kind, sr., Spencer.

Second team: Hayden Willner, jr., Colby; Emma Grunseth, sr., Gilman; Madisyn James, sr., Gilman; Delaney Rochester, jr., Neillsville; Paige Voight, so., Neillsville; Amber Becker, sr., Spencer.

Honorable mention: Kya Viegut, sr., Colby; Hailey Zimmerman, jr., Marshfield Columbus Catholic; Mesa Rasmussen, sr., Greenwood; Abrial Kubista, sr., Loyal; Reina Arndt, so., Owen-Withee; Rebecca Mlsna, sr., Spencer.

Player of the Year: Emma Moseley, Neillsville.

90 views0 comments