top of page


Zaleski Sports

SPARTA – Marshfield won three individual titles and had three others finish third at the Sparta Wrestling Invitational on Saturday at Sparta High School.

Holmen won the team title with 209.5 points, with Neillsville/Greenwood/Loyal second with 174 and Marshfield tied Baraboo for third with 157 points.

Freshman Hoyt Blaskowski, junior Gabe Pugh and sophomore Ryan Dolezal won individual titles for the Tigers, and Nathan Buchanan and Gunner Hoffman earned championships for Neillsville/Greenwood/Loyal.

Blaskowski (33-4) beat Jayme Zvolena of NGL by pin in 1:04 to capture the 126-pound title.

Pugh (29-3) edged Baraboo’s Brandon Jesse, 10-9, in the 138-pound title match, and Dolezal (30-4) beat Eli Davidson of Baraboo, 9-2, in the 145-pound championship.

Hoffman improved to 25-1 with a pin in 3:00 of Tyson Frey of Baraboo to earn the 220-pound title.

Buchanan won the 170-pound final, edging Aiden Estes of Baraboo 12-10 in the first period of sudden victory overtime.

Luke Dux (24-3) placed second at 106 pounds and Gage Ludovic (19-7) finished third at 120 for NGL.

Shane Westerhausen (28-9 at 113), Brett Franklin (20-4 at 132), and Garrett Willuweit (24-12 at 152) each finished third for Marshfield.

Marshfield will have two weeks off before competing at the Wisconsin Valley Conference Tournament at Wisconsin Rapids on Feb. 8.

Sparta Wrestling Invitational Jan. 25, at Sparta High School Team scores: 1. Holmen 209.5; 2. Neillsville/Greenwood/Loyal 174; 3. Baraboo and Marshfield 157; 5. Reedsburg 111; 6. Adams-Friendship 101; 7. Viroqua 99; 8. Sparta 89; 9. Lancaster 88; 10. Blair-Taylor 84; 11. DeForest 70; 12. Mauston 57; 13. Beaver Dam 56; 14. Black River Falls 35; 15. River Ridge/Cambridge 23. Championship matches, and Marshfield and Neillsville/Greenwood/Loyal results 106 pounds Championship: Parker Kratochvill (HOL) def. Luke Dux (NGL), 8-5. Fifth place: Cole Docken (AF) pinned Alex Westlund (MAR), 2:21. 113 pounds Championship: Sam Smith (HOL) won major dec. over Josh Frye (VIR), 16-8. Third place: Shane Westerhausen (MAR) pinned Jarick Young (NGL), 4:52. 120 pounds Championship: Alex Pellowski (HOL) pinned Remington Bontreger (LAN), 2:54. Third place: Gage Ludovic (NGL) def. Jordan Dolata (AF), 9-3. 126 pounds Championship: Hoyt Blaskowski (MAR) pinned Jayme Zvolena (NGL), 1:04. 132 pounds Championship: Cale Anderson (VIR) def. Vince Polhamus (SPAR), 4-0. Third place: Brett Franklin (MAR) def. Jackson McCormick (BRF), 8-6. Fifth place: Caden Fry (REED) def. Keeghan Anding (NGL), 4-1. 138 pounds Championship: Gage Pugh (MAR) def. Brandon Jesse (BAR), 10-9. Seventh place: Garrett Learman (NGL) pinned Isaha Williams (AF), 1:45. 145 pounds Championship: Ryan Dolezal (MAR) def. Eli Davidson (BAR), 9-2. Seventh place: Thomas Treu (SPAR) won major dec. over Ethan Herman (MAR), 11-3. 152 pounds Championship: Carter Vetsch (HOL) won by technical fall over Aaron Dobbs (VIR), 16-0. Third place: Garrett Willuweit (MAR) def. Tye Klass (SPAR), 5-0. Fifth place: Brandon Dolata (MAU) pinned Carter Schoengarth (NGL), 3:50. 160 pounds Championship: Brody Hemauer (DF) won by technical fall over Corbin Hauser (SPAR), 19-2. Fifth place: Camren Dennee (MAR) won major dec. over Tommy Friemoth (NGL), 15-6. 170 pounds Championship: Nathan Buchanan (NGL) def. Aiden Estes (BAR), 12-10 (SV-1). 182 pounds Championship: John Gunderson (BAR) won major dec. over Logan Shramek (BT), 15-2. Fifth place: Dan Polzin (NGL) def. Alex Simon (MAR), 6-4. 195 pounds Championship: Drake Schams (HOL) pinned Dustin Wolf (LAN), 3:15. Seventh place: Gavin Esser (RRC) pinned Joe Polzin (NGL), 2:52. 220 pounds Championship: Gunner Hoffmann (NGL) pinned Tyson Fry (BAR), 3:00. 285 pounds Championship: David Finkel (REED) def. Chris Rogstad (BT), 4-0.

5 views0 comments