top of page


Mosinee's Kristin Selle was a unanimous first-team selection on the 2022 All-Great Northern Conference Girls Soccer Team. (Photo by Paul Lecker/Zaleski Sports)

By Paul Lecker

Zaleski Sports

Mosinee sophomore Kaitlyn Selle was a unanimous selection on the first team of the 2022 All-Great Northern Conference Girls Soccer Team, as voted on by the conference coaches following the season.

Selle tied for fourth in the GNC with 11 goals and sixth in points with 23 for Mosinee, which finished 4-5-1 in the conference in 2022.

Lakeland senior Sophia Myshchyshyn was named the GNC Offensive Player of the Year after she had 17 goals and 11 assists to finish second in the conference with 45 points. Lakeland won the conference title and had four other first-team picks in seniors Leah Wolfe, Olivia Melka and Naomi Hamerla, and junior Callie Uilius.

Rounding out the first team choices were Northland Pines seniors Maleea Eggleston and Samantha Haiduk, and Rhinelander seniors McKenna Brown and Audrey Schiek, and junior Ava Lamers. Shieck was picked as the Defensive Player of the Year.

Sophomore Maddy Wayerski and junior Gabby Munoz were second-team selections, and senior goalkeeper Jessica Brown and sophomore Abby Dhein were honorable mention picks for Mosinee.

2022 All-Great Northern Conference Girls Soccer Team

(*denotes unanimous selection)

First team: *Sophia Myshchyshyn, sr., Lakeland; *Leah Wolfe, sr., Lakeland; *Naomi Hamerla, sr., Lakeland; *Kaitlyn Selle, so., Mosinee; *Maleea Eggleston, sr., Northland Pines; *McKenna Brown, sr., Rhinelander; *Ava Lamers, jr., Rhinelander; *Audrey Schiek, sr., Rhinelander; Callie Ullius, jr., Lakeland; Samantha Haiduk, sr., Northland Pines; Olivia Melka, sr., Lakeland.

Second team: Maddy Wayerski, so., Mosinee; Ellyn Reese, sr., Northland Pines; Mya Krouze, so., Rhinelander; Cassidy Sternhagen, jr., Northland Pines; Maria Gironella, jr., Lakeland; Gabby Brunner, sr., Medford; Sophia Miljevich, fr., Rhinelander; Alyson Lazaroff, jr., Lakeland; Caitlin Doyle, sr., Medford; Lydia Pernsteiner, sr., Medford; Gabby Munoz, jr., Mosinee.

Honorable mention: Eleanor Steffen, sr., Rhinelander; Josie Wentland, jr., Lakeland; Jenna Whitman, sr., Lakeland; Grace Witkopf, sr., Northland Pines; Mabel Spencer, sr., Rhinelander; Kelsey Jascor, sr., Medford; Emily Rottier-Douagmala, jr., Northland Pines; Emma Chiamulera, so., Rhinelander; Carolyn Schaars, sr., Northland Pines; Margo Kelly, sr., Antigo; Abby Dhein, so., Mosinee; Jessica Brown, sr., Mosinee.

Offensive Player of the Year: Sophia Myshchyshyn, Lakeland.

Defensive Player of the Year: Audrey Schiek, Rhinelander.

Coach of the Year: Rodney Sternhagen, Northland Pines.

25 views0 comments